Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-10-2012, 06:39 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,079
Default Machine control record and PT record at same time

Dear All

Is there a way of dropping a vt machine and PT into record at the same time without all that tedious "apple+backslash"-ing around?

I just wonder if it is a pref that I have over looked or missed in the new features sections somewhere....

One of my clients is using the AMS audiofile to drop PT and VT into record at the same time, but it wouod be great not to have to use the audiofile (great thought its machine control is). and I dont want to open the DFC machine conmtrol can of worms....

Doug F - you lurking out there?

cheers
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-10-2012, 08:15 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,079
Default Re: Machine control record and PT record at same time

Please vote on the ideas scale

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd/12733-3779

cheers
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-11-2012, 05:04 AM
thermisonic thermisonic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London
Posts: 121
Default Re: Machine control record and PT record at same time

not sure this is ideal but:

1. go into prefs and switch on 'transport record lock'
2. choose 'track punch' or 'destructive punch' modes in options.
3. choose 'machine' as master in the transport window.

every time your transport resolves playback, PT will go into record. PT drops into record before your machine insertion point, but the machine sticks to the insert edit.

as I said, may cause more issues than it solves depending on your workflow.

Hope this helps,

Rob Walker AMPS
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-11-2012, 09:19 AM
Doug the Brit Doug the Brit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: California
Posts: 64
Default Re: Machine control record and PT record at same time

Lurking but clueless on this one, I'm afraid!

Rob's approach would have been mine too, OK for a layback, less so for updating as you mix...

-DF
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-12-2012, 02:23 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,079
Default

Hi Doug

The workflow is all update as you mix - sadly so Rob's solution doesn't work, but thanks.

The clients have sports shows with an M&E on vt 3&4 which are played through the desk, the VO is recorded clean into the Audiofile (or pro tools) as a safety and mixed back to tracks 1&2 on the vt with the M&E 'on the fly'.

With the Audiofile it's a doddle, as the mcs is so good and auto external record works like a charm, with PT it is a nightmare due to the switching between transports required ( please Avid join the 21st century here?).
Clients would love to skip the audiofiles and just use PT, but the lack of this feature is making it hard.

Clients are keen to buy a Euphonix desk when they move, but PT is so shaky in this respect and they are concerned that the Euphonics machine control is also shaky like pro tools. If PT could do record on a vt machine and PT at the same time in quick punch then it would be joy.

With Sony hdcam 2000 decks there is also the problem that the track bounce causes a 1 frame delay when the tracks are bounced from 3&4 to 1&2 - but that is another post,,,

Cheers
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-12-2012, 11:07 AM
idris idris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Harpenden, just north of London, UK
Posts: 444
Default Re: Machine control record and PT record at same time

Is this a weekly football magazine show by any chance?
__________________
PT12.4.0 / HDN / HD Omni / MC Control / Intensity Pro / El Capitan / 3.7 Quad core Intel Xeon ES (trashcan) MacPro / 12GB RAM
Over 15yrs experience in TV. Currently mainly indie features.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-13-2012, 08:49 AM
Doug the Brit Doug the Brit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: California
Posts: 64
Default Re: Machine control record and PT record at same time

Ho w about a small Colin Broad controller driving both Pro Tools and the deck?

-D
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-16-2012, 12:46 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,079
Default

Mm I remember the Colin Broad controller when I freelanced at LWT and their Logic 1's - not a box you can use "cold".
Colin is a very clever man (no doubt), but you do need to be able to speak 9 pin!

I used to like the Motionworker synchronisers that they had at Videosonics, shame they went bust.

Anyone any experience of the Euphonics machine control?

Avid - can you not just write a tinsey bit of software here? It will sell you 3 consoles!
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-16-2012, 12:50 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,079
Default

Iris

Probably.
IMG make some of the worlds most watched sports shows - including all the IOC offiicial fims and the Wimbledon official film (my first ever solo mix on a studer multitrack, a NEVE analogue desk and an Augan 8 track MO based hard disc recorder - when china graph was the order of the day).

Cheers
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-16-2012, 01:07 AM
idris idris is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Harpenden, just north of London, UK
Posts: 444
Default Re: Machine control record and PT record at same time

(I only ask as it sounds like a job a client I freelance for has lost recently.)
__________________
PT12.4.0 / HDN / HD Omni / MC Control / Intensity Pro / El Capitan / 3.7 Quad core Intel Xeon ES (trashcan) MacPro / 12GB RAM
Over 15yrs experience in TV. Currently mainly indie features.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Record Arm Record Enable using Axiom Pro Hyper Control Cosme MIDI 1 04-16-2013 04:56 AM
Machine control not allowing me to record from Digibeta robertocap Post - Surround - Video 9 11-17-2008 11:48 AM
Freeze Machine when i try to record polen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-20-2008 02:15 PM
Machine Control drop sync on record Norad155 Post - Surround - Video 4 01-08-2008 06:29 PM
record arm machine tracks simon mog Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-23-2005 08:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com