Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2013, 12:19 PM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,047
Default HW insert delay comp in PT11 (and OMNI question)

Is this still an HD only feature? I'm looking at an HD Native system with an OMNI I/O and my Rosetta 800 connected to the ADAT ports on the OMNI. Will I have the ability to set delay comp manually on the Optical I/O?

Also, am I correct to understand that if I have 8 channels of inserts on the ADAT I/O of the Omni, I'm limited to 4 channels of Analog I/O for either inserts OR monitoring (ie NO 5.1 output with 8 Digital channels of I/O- and really only 2 more channels of available analog I/O if I'm monitoring in stereo)?

My one possible scenario is 8 Rosetta analog inserts (via ADAT), 2 channels SPDIF digital to/from outboard reverb unit and STEREO analog out to speakers. That's the max correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2013, 01:12 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: HW insert delay comp in PT11 (and OMNI question)

My 2 cents only, but......this requires further investigation as the lightpipe ports of the OMNI don't necessarily allow for a full 8 channels in both directions. The OMNI itself only allows 8 paths into Pro Tools(I would sell the Rosetta, skip the Omni and buy a 16x16 HD IO). Omni is a perfect solution for someone working alone and working in the box. For a bigger setup, you need more IO. As for HW delay comp, this has been possible since 9 with all versions. Its just a manual process of calculating the latency and entering the offset in the Hardware Latency comp page(there's videos around for how to, so check youtube).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2013, 04:28 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: HW insert delay comp in PT11 (and OMNI question)

HD Native compensates for hardware inserts just like HDX and TDM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2013, 01:54 PM
Jack Ruston UK Jack Ruston UK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 113
Default Re: HW insert delay comp in PT11 (and OMNI question)

Yes...HDN compensates inserts automatically just as TDM and HDX do. The issue is that the Omni isn't the best interface for this because it's not organised in 'pairs' in quite the same way as say an 8x8x8 or 16x16. The suggestion to opt for one of those two interfaces is the ideal solution.

J
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delay comp question KrisHeinold macOS 4 09-28-2011 05:27 PM
Support ? OMNI Hardware insert ADC question K Roche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 04-02-2011 11:50 AM
OMNI ADC and Hardware insert question K Roche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 03-06-2011 05:21 AM
Hardware Insert Delay Comp Issue therecordinghouse Pro Tools 9 7 11-17-2010 06:01 AM
Delay Comp question Kourquie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 06-25-2009 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com