Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #71  
Old 03-06-2020, 07:44 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: HDX vs Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by bloodstar57 View Post
i,ve been running a HDN system for 7 years now and have had the chance to work on a HDX system recently. To ear the HDX is much tighter. I don't the know measured differences but we have to remember to sometimes put the analytics down a listen, However, be sure you have a accurate line stage so you hear whats actually going on.

I will be switching to HDX as soon as i can afford it.
Do some null tests and get back to us. I've never noticed a difference. RTAS and TDM were different. RTAS sounded better! but that was mainly gain-staging and floating-point. AAX DSP and AAX Native were designed to be identical.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 03-06-2020, 09:40 AM
feliponk's Avatar
feliponk feliponk is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miami, FL, USA
Posts: 1,221
Default Re: HDX vs Native

I have an HD Native system using Merging's HAPI with the Ravenna AOIP protocol. When recording I have a 32ms buffer and it's super useable and so far, nobody has complained about it (including myself playing guitar), and when mixing, I haven't got any issues at all, even using a lot of VIs, busses, and plugins.
The HDX system guarantees a more stable response in general, especially when tracking with plugins but that's something I don't do. Anyway, using systems like UA's Apollo, you can achieve almost the same, at a lower price.

Cheers.
__________________
Felipe Gonzalez A.
Avid ACSR Elite
Dante Certified
http://felipousismix.wix.com/felipousismix

Custom Mac Pro OSX Sierra | Windows 10 Pro 64 | ProTools HD 2019 | Pyramix XI | Merging HAPI ADA8 | MBox 3 | UAD Quad PCIe | Avid Artist Mix | Kali LP-6 | Presonus Temblor 10 | Universal Audio, Slate Digital, McDSP, Fabfilter, Plugin Alliance among other plugins
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 03-06-2020, 09:42 AM
feliponk's Avatar
feliponk feliponk is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miami, FL, USA
Posts: 1,221
Default Re: HDX vs Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
AAX DSP and AAX Native were designed to be identical.

That's correct, the core code is the same.
__________________
Felipe Gonzalez A.
Avid ACSR Elite
Dante Certified
http://felipousismix.wix.com/felipousismix

Custom Mac Pro OSX Sierra | Windows 10 Pro 64 | ProTools HD 2019 | Pyramix XI | Merging HAPI ADA8 | MBox 3 | UAD Quad PCIe | Avid Artist Mix | Kali LP-6 | Presonus Temblor 10 | Universal Audio, Slate Digital, McDSP, Fabfilter, Plugin Alliance among other plugins
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 03-06-2020, 01:29 PM
itsjustmeee123 itsjustmeee123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: california
Posts: 50
Default Re: HDX vs Native

I think there's a lot of factors here that can make a huge difference. I recently went from a '08 Mac Pro with Pro Tools 10 HD and 16 gigs of ram to a new iMac 8-Core i9 with Pro Tools Ultimate Native and 64 gigs of ram. I never had a latency issue with my old Mac HD system until I would get into a session with a lot of virtual Instruments and that's where it would show up because I had to always increase the buffer size. Currently, I hear no latency whatsoever with my setup. The interface has a LOT to do with latency overall. A lot of people that use USB will always run into latency issues. You have to go with Thunderbolt all the way.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 03-06-2020, 01:41 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,365
Default Re: HDX vs Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by itsjustmeee123 View Post
A lot of people that use USB will always run into latency issues. You have to go with Thunderbolt all the way.
Anything goes as long as it isn't the thing designed for mice and keyboards. For example back in the day I had lots of success with DigiDesign 002R which is a FireWire box. FW400 is "slower" than USB2 but guess which is stable.

Mind you, when USB4 comes it will be just as good as TB. That will end the USB bashing.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 03-06-2020, 01:41 PM
feliponk's Avatar
feliponk feliponk is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miami, FL, USA
Posts: 1,221
Default Re: HDX vs Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by itsjustmeee123 View Post
You have to go with Thunderbolt all the way.

I disagree, Audio Over IP (Ravenna, Dante, AVB) is the way to go.
__________________
Felipe Gonzalez A.
Avid ACSR Elite
Dante Certified
http://felipousismix.wix.com/felipousismix

Custom Mac Pro OSX Sierra | Windows 10 Pro 64 | ProTools HD 2019 | Pyramix XI | Merging HAPI ADA8 | MBox 3 | UAD Quad PCIe | Avid Artist Mix | Kali LP-6 | Presonus Temblor 10 | Universal Audio, Slate Digital, McDSP, Fabfilter, Plugin Alliance among other plugins
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 03-06-2020, 01:44 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,365
Default Re: HDX vs Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by feliponk View Post
I disagree, Audio Over IP (Ravenna, Dante, AVB) is the way to go.
Yes, as long as it is 10 gigabit or faster. Gigabit network is not enough to beat TB
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 03-06-2020, 02:16 PM
feliponk's Avatar
feliponk feliponk is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miami, FL, USA
Posts: 1,221
Default Re: HDX vs Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Gigabit network is not enough to beat TB

It does in distance (100 mts) and channel count (512@48Khz | 256@96KHz)
__________________
Felipe Gonzalez A.
Avid ACSR Elite
Dante Certified
http://felipousismix.wix.com/felipousismix

Custom Mac Pro OSX Sierra | Windows 10 Pro 64 | ProTools HD 2019 | Pyramix XI | Merging HAPI ADA8 | MBox 3 | UAD Quad PCIe | Avid Artist Mix | Kali LP-6 | Presonus Temblor 10 | Universal Audio, Slate Digital, McDSP, Fabfilter, Plugin Alliance among other plugins
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 03-06-2020, 02:28 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,365
Default Re: HDX vs Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by feliponk View Post
It does in distance (100 mts) and channel count (512@48Khz | 256@96KHz)
True. And very cool that it uses standard ethernet cabling
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 03-07-2020, 01:05 AM
Wolfgang Eller Wolfgang Eller is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,073
Default Re: HDX vs Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
True. And very cool that it uses standard ethernet cabling
And sometimes you have to be an absolute network nerd to keep it running.
Madi is way easier to manage.
__________________
www.srs-mastering.de
Mac Pro 6.1-8core, OS 10.15, PT2020, HDX2, Sonnet Echo Express III-R, Madi Interface.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: McDSP Analog Channel Native V5, 6020 Ultimate EQ Native V5 soundroad Buy & Sell 31 03-21-2016 06:03 AM
Does HD native or native native disable plugins when monitoring inputs? BasketCase Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 05-20-2013 08:48 AM
FLUX Elixier V3 AAX Native & DSP + Freeware Bittersweet V3 AAX Native & DSP released psmworld AAX Plug-ins 18 01-31-2013 04:16 PM
SSL4000 native/ Renmaxx native/ DUY everpack native!!! cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-22-2007 07:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com