Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-2005, 11:10 AM
rlcowa@work2 rlcowa@work2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Virginia Beach, VA USA
Posts: 207
Default Laptop key to create markers

What is the keyboard shortcut for dropping markers during playback when using a laptop without a numeric keypad? Thanks in advance! R
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2005, 11:13 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Laptop key to create markers

Most laptops have an "embedded" numeric keypad that functions by pressing a function key along with specific alpha keys.

Which laptop?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2005, 11:23 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: Laptop key to create markers

or you can press the marker button in the marker well.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2005, 01:01 PM
rlcowa@work2 rlcowa@work2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Virginia Beach, VA USA
Posts: 207
Default Re: Laptop key to create markers

I have Dell D810. I was able to press some key combination last Friday and was getting markers dropped during playback but now I can't recall what I did. I tried the function button that gives me the numerica keypad keys (J=1, K=2,...) along with the enter key thinking the Fn+Enter conbintation equaled the numeric keypads enter but there is no marker produced.

The mixing workflow is far easier creating markers using a keystroke rather than a click on the marker bar. I am going to mess with it tonight.

Thanks! R
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2005, 02:10 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Laptop key to create markers

Numeric enter is the create marker shortcut. Unfortunately, the Dell excludes the enter key when fn is pressed (my emachines and some other laptops don't).
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-20-2005, 10:30 PM
jre3132 jre3132 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,245
Default Re: Laptop key to create markers

I have a Dell Latitude 600. I hold the "FN" key and press the enter key.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.7 Quad Core Intel
Mac OS X 10.13.2
PT Ultimate HDX 2019.10
64GB RAM
HDX I/O 16x16 Analog
HDX I/O 8x8x8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elastic Audio: Create Warp Markers From Analysis Gatekeeper 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-07-2018 08:45 AM
Adding markers on pc laptop how did you do this willl3 Windows 2 10-17-2013 04:05 PM
Beat Markers Appearing As Elastic Audio Markers Fabdickson Pro Tools 9 1 03-06-2012 06:03 PM
Dumb question: How do I create Bar/Beat Markers?? el biciclista Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-24-2005 12:20 PM
Can't create Markers in HD Bookerv12 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-18-2003 05:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com