Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2009, 08:15 PM
N.E.S. N.E.S. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Pro Tools Hd systems = Please Help

To my understanding there are PCI and actual Audio Interfaces.....

Now my question is simple, do the audio interfaces work WITHOUT the PCI cards?


I have a macbook pro and currently use a Digi 002, and thinking about bringing my recordings and music to the next level.


Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2009, 11:26 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,798
Default Re: Pro Tools Hd systems = Please Help

The HD interfaces must be used with the PCI cards. All the TDM processing power in located on the HD core and Accel cards. The interfaces connect to the cards. The only exceptions are the Digidesign 8 Mic Preamp and the Digidesign Midi Interface units which can be used without the cards. I hope that answers your question.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.13.6 running Protools 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2009, 02:23 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,905
Default Re: Pro Tools Hd systems = Please Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
The HD interfaces must be used with the PCI cards. All the TDM processing power in located on the HD core and Accel cards. The interfaces connect to the cards. The only exceptions are the Digidesign 8 Mic Preamp and the Digidesign Midi Interface units which can be used without the cards. I hope that answers your question.
If you need a backup answer, he’s right.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2009, 10:36 AM
N.E.S. N.E.S. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Pro Tools Hd systems = Please Help

So if I wanted to use Pro Tools HD on a Macbook Pro, I can't?


Obviously there are no PCi slots on my laptop, help me out here fellas


thank you
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2009, 10:43 AM
N.E.S. N.E.S. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Pro Tools Hd systems = Please Help

Just did a quick google search and found this http://sewelldirect.com/Magma-EB4.asp, apparently you can hook up this device to the laptops express slot


Very expensive...............


It looks like I might just go the Black Lion Audio Mod and if anything to my best with Pro Tools LE, as HD cost so MUCH more......
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-30-2009, 10:44 AM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: Pro Tools Hd systems = Please Help

I believe there are express card PCIe chassis available. I have no idea how well this would work..

If you are set on getting HD, then these kind of questions will get better answers on the HD forum.

PS To take your 002 to the next level, get a Rosetta 800 and as many nice external mic-pres you can afford. You will need the mic-pres for HD anyway.

If you feel the need to spend money, mic-pres, microphones, monitors, and quality room treatment will get you a bigger bang for the buck initially than just jumping from LE to HD.

YMMV
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2009, 10:55 AM
N.E.S. N.E.S. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: Pro Tools Hd systems = Please Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by flommer View Post
I believe there are express card PCIe chassis available. I have no idea how well this would work..

If you are set on getting HD, then these kind of questions will get better answers on the HD forum.

PS To take your 002 to the next level, get a Rosetta 800 and as many nice external mic-pres you can afford. You will need the mic-pres for HD anyway.

If you feel the need to spend money, mic-pres, microphones, monitors, and quality room treatment will get you a bigger bang for the buck initially than just jumping from LE to HD.

YMMV

Now I have been reading and it seems like the Black Lion Audio Mod might be of better benefit than buying the Apogee Rosetta.


I would like to know more people that have the Black Lion audio mod though so I can ask them some questions
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reading Pro Tools 6 Files on Pro Tools 7 or 8 M-Powered Systems longmansleep Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 05-08-2010 03:09 PM
Pro tools on 2 systems? Roque 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 03-18-2010 04:29 PM
Pro Tools 8 with 64 bit systems 5Grand Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-20-2009 07:40 PM
tools systems... freed Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-22-2006 05:57 PM
Pro Tools 5.3.1 for Windows TDM Systems Avid Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 06-27-2002 09:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com