Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2012, 06:28 AM
BadAudioGuy BadAudioGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Faderville, TX
Posts: 2
Default Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack

Looking at upgrading my current console setup to a Profile Surface with Mix Rack.

With Venue 3 around the corner...My question pertains to the up'ed channel limitation on the Mix Rack (64 to 80). Is it now possible to add an additional mic in card bringing the total to 4 input cards? Or is just an up on the overall processing (48 Mic In, 8 AES, 8 Line in, 16 Stereo EFX)?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2012, 10:02 AM
Nicolas Lowman Nicolas Lowman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 103
Default Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack

Another question regarding Venue 3 and Mix Rack.

Since the input and output cards are the same for both Mix Rack and SC48, when is the Stage 48/AVB going to be compatible with Mix Rack?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2012, 12:33 PM
doug sjostrom doug sjostrom is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Carlos, CA, USA
Posts: 322
Default Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack

You can not add another mic input card to the Mix Rack. You can add an I/O 16 which gives you 8 more analog line I/O and 8 more AES digital I/O.
__________________
Doug Sjostrom
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2012, 03:09 PM
BadAudioGuy BadAudioGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Faderville, TX
Posts: 2
Default Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack

Doug,

You could add a IOx Card before the up'in on the channel limitation.

48 Mic In, 8 Line In, 8 AES = 64 Channels

Just trying to understand where the additional 16chs are coming from...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-09-2012, 03:41 PM
Nicolas Lowman Nicolas Lowman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 103
Default Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadAudioGuy View Post
Just trying to understand where the additional 16chs are coming from...
Different workflows often use multiple processing channels for a single input from the stage. This involves double patching inputs.

One example of this would be when the desk is used for monitors and FOH simultaneously. This allows you to process an input differently for different uses.

Another example is for a center vocal in monitor world. There could be one channel that is driving wedges and another to drive IEM.

Sometimes a center vocalist wants to hear a vocal one way in their ears and the band needs something more compressed that keeps it loud enough for them to hear the quiet parts, but not blow them away during the loud parts. Patching the same input to multiple processing channels is often an ideal way of accomplishing this.

There are other times when you might want to have a clean and a dirty of the same input. For instance you could patch the DI input of a Bass guitar to two different channels. One might be fairly clean and transparent while the other has an amp modeling plugin on it. Mixing the two together creates a different sound.

More processing channels allow for more flexibility in accomplishing the tasks at hand.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2012, 09:51 AM
Kenmillerjr's Avatar
Kenmillerjr Kenmillerjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 597
Default Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack

Don't forget the FX returns as well...
__________________
Ken Miller, Jr.
Audio Engineer
Southside Baptist Church | Warner Robins, GA

| VENUE Profile 96X64 with MADI Option | ProTools 7.4.2 HD3 Accel PCI | ProTools 10 Native | MacBook Pro 17" OS 10.7.1 2.3GHz Intel Core i7 8GB Ram | Mbox 2 Pro | Mbox 3 Pro | Motu 896mk3 Hybrid |
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-10-2012, 01:21 PM
doug sjostrom doug sjostrom is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Carlos, CA, USA
Posts: 322
Default Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack

They are software only. Ken and Nicolas give some good examples as to how you might want to use them.
__________________
Doug Sjostrom
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-11-2012, 09:11 AM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicolas Lowman View Post
One might be fairly clean and transparent while the other has an amp modeling plugin on it. Mixing the two together creates a different sound.
Yes it really does, but bad comb-filtering type of sound

I would really like to see some type of selective delay compensation on next gen. desks, where for example, channels sharing the same input would be kept sample-accurate @ output(s).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-11-2012, 11:12 AM
Nicolas Lowman Nicolas Lowman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 103
Default Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack

Quote:
Originally Posted by digidesigner View Post
Yes it really does, but bad comb-filtering type of sound
This is place where you would need to manually compensate for the the delay offset between the two channels. Trootrace works fine for this. Pull up a transfer between the two channels and add delay until the phase trace lines up. It would be nice if it was automated, but it is very doable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-11-2012, 12:50 PM
danymeeuwissen danymeeuwissen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6
Default Re: Venue 3 & Profile Mix Rack

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicolas Lowman View Post
This is place where you would need to manually compensate for the the delay offset between the two channels. Trootrace works fine for this. Pull up a transfer between the two channels and add delay until the phase trace lines up. It would be nice if it was automated, but it is very doable.
An easier way, right click on the input screen in the grey area above the inserts (upper right), and it will show you the total delay of the plugins inserted on that channel (in samples).
Just type in that same amount of samples on the parallel channel and you' re set.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FX Routing ON Venue Profile PKPMusic VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 07-28-2012 09:23 AM
Purchasing Venue Profile Recengnr24 VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 05-24-2012 08:06 AM
Venue D Show vs Venue Profile dsmithbsaaudio@cox.net VENUE Live Sound Systems 14 07-06-2011 03:31 PM
VENUE Profile, max. channels - 96 or 128? kwz VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 12-17-2010 12:15 AM
Manual Venue and Profile Tiginbna VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 12-01-2007 08:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com