Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-10-2010, 09:51 AM
Elephent Elephent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK Lancs
Posts: 14
Default Pro Tools 9 3rd Party Plug ins

Model Name: Mac Pro
Model Identifier: MacPro4,1
Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 6 GB
Processor Interconnect Speed: 4.8 GT/s
Boot ROM Version: MP41.0081.B07
SMC Version (system): 1.39f5
SMC Version (processor tray): 1.39f5
Serial Number (system): CK9410P8BXE
Serial Number (processor tray): J593701VV4MFE
Hardware UUID: B1CBBA2D-62DC-51D0-9905-260EC5D40B1D

Running Pro Tools 9

Hi I have just installed Pro tools 9 from LE which was unistalled before new install of 9.

I am new to the forums buyt am aware that I should search first for my and cannot find an answer to this weardness.

After installing pro tools 9 All my 3rd party plugins such as Native instruments Komplete 5, Waves Gold 6 and various others are not found. ??? Do I have to go through and reinstall all of these from their DVD's or is there an easier option.

Many Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2010, 12:10 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,626
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 3rd Party Plug ins

Yes, you may need to reinstall them all, but it's probably best to use the downloadable installers from the plug-in makers' websites to ensure that you're running the latest versions. Plug-ins not being up to date is one of the most common causes of problems with PT.

I'm going through that process right now myself. It's a bit of a pain because you have to jump through various re-authorization hoops, which are different for every manufacturer. Thankfully, I was able to install my Win7 upgrade on a new partition without disturbing the XP partition, so I can open my old and new plug-in folders side by side and make sure they get fully reconciled. A few were just drag and drop, and maybe re-authorize on first use if they're non-iLok. Many had to be reinstalled from scratch, though, because they have libraries or extra dlls that need registry pointers or something. It's just one of those things you have to remember to plan for.

I recommend installing one plug-in (or bundle) at a time, and running PT to make sure they're there and working properly before installing the next. Could save a ton of troubleshooting time later.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2010, 02:32 PM
Elephent Elephent is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK Lancs
Posts: 14
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 3rd Party Plug ins

Thanks for the response. I kind of just resigned myself to the fact that I would have to do that so I have ! Only bloody ball ache is that Native instruments Komplete does not support apparently so I need to buy the upgrade if I want to use some of their instruments. This sucks. Not being a pirate is very expensive. Thanks again for your reply dude.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3rd Party AAX Plug-Ins Oliver M AAX Plug-ins 549 04-19-2019 10:51 AM
Just installed Pro Tools 10. Neither native nor 3rd party plug-ins show up. YoMyEx Pro Tools 10 12 04-17-2014 06:27 PM
How do I use third party plug-ins with Pro Tools 10 MogDog Windows 5 01-09-2013 07:17 PM
loading Thrid Party Plug ins in Pro Tools M-Powered v 7.1.1. isaac12002cn Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 11 03-16-2007 12:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com