Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2009, 06:05 AM
Duncan101 Duncan101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 9
Default Pro Tools 8 LE install HELP!

I've just downloaded Pro Tools 8. I am ready to install. However there is virtually zero guidance from the Digidesign site. Help!

So far the only guide I have read recommends cloning the mac hard drive as back up. Which I have done. There are 3 key questions I have below which have not been covered though. An idiots guide on the Digi site would be useful...

I currently run Pro Tools LE 7.4.2 on a Mac Book Pro 2.5 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo with 4 gb RAM, Mbox 2 Pro (firewire).

Some basic questions:
1. Do I have to uninstall Pro Tools 7.4.2 before installing 8? Or can I install over the top?

2. Will my existing plug in's (from Pro Tools 7.4 and beyond) be in tact in Pro Tools 8? There is only BFD and one other plug in on the 3rd party content upgrade activation for PT 8. Why so little? Do I uninstall previous BFD to install the new PT8 LE BFD plug in version?

3. Do I have to get activation code for iLok for PT8 plug in's, there doesn't seem to be any supplied?

Can anybody help. Any suggestions to the above questions much appreciated.
Many thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2009, 06:48 AM
BlueThursday BlueThursday is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 241
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 LE install HELP!

1 - yes, uninstall any previous version

2 - Don't know, make a backup if no one else answers this question

3 - I didn't do any iLok actions for my stock PT8 plug-ins.
__________________
Mac Pro - 8 core 2.8 GHz - 6GB RAM - 10.5.8
Pro Tools LE 8.0 - MPT2 - 003R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2009, 08:33 AM
CoryCooper CoryCooper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 31
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 LE install HELP!

1. Agreed - always better to uninstall any previous version when upgrading.

2. The uninstaller will not remove the plug-ins, newer versions will be installed in place of the older ones, and any third-party plugs will remain intact.

3. iLok authorizations will be still active. You will only run into trouble if some plug-ins require a newer version to be compatible.

HTH,

C
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2009, 09:17 AM
crowdog crowdog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Jim Thorpe, PA
Posts: 609
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 LE install HELP!

What version of OSX are you using??

Just a word of advice to save a possible headache. Make sure you go here to see if all of your 3rd party plugins are compatible with PT8.

Tony
__________________
___________________________________________
Mac Pro 2 x quad-core 2.8Ghz / 14GB RAM / OSX 10.6.8/ PT10.0.1 / 003R
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2009, 06:08 AM
Duncan101 Duncan101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 9
Default Re: Pro Tools 8 LE install HELP!

OS is 10.5.6

Thanks for the comments so far. Much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10.3.2 wont even install! After clean windows 7 install!!! shamanrock Windows 13 12-27-2012 05:39 PM
First install of Pro Tools 9 - Logic 9 already installed - PlugIn install questions b-pole macOS 2 08-31-2011 08:23 AM
Can't install Pro Tools 8! Clean install, new system, Vista! DJ Hellfire 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 31 01-09-2011 12:16 PM
Can't install Pro Tools LE - Insert disc but no option to install Paul McConnell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-22-2010 09:13 AM
Why install Pro-Tools to install drivers for Mbox2 bigbobbysd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-23-2010 08:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com