Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-12-2010, 03:54 PM
jcmckay jcmckay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Default PT9 H/W Buffer Problems. Any Ideas?

Greetings,

I am a new to the forum and have been trying to find this answer everywhere with no luck. I was hoping someone here might be able to share some knowledge.

I just recently upgraded from PT LE 7.4 to PT 9 on my iMac. I have an Mbox 2 Pro and have done all driver updates as well. Since updating, I am unable to play back any session because I consistently receive the "H/W Buffer Underflow" error. I have tried multiple settings in the playback engine with no luck.

I have clean uninstalled and am running Snow Leopard. If anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2010, 04:00 PM
firebass305 firebass305 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 36
Default Re: PT9 H/W Buffer Problems. Any Ideas?

Hey John -

I've had similar issues. The tip I got was to go to Setup>Hardware> and under clock source switch it to SPDIF, wait till it gives you the error message, switch it back to internal, and your sessions should play without a hitch.

This won't fix it forever; you may have to do it every once in a while and it's pretty annoying, but at least it will get your sessions playing again. 60% of the time, it works every time. . .

Actually it works every time...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2010, 04:15 PM
jcmckay jcmckay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: PT9 H/W Buffer Problems. Any Ideas?

Thank you for the quick response. I actually just hooked up my Firestudio Project and it seems to be working without a flaw.

I will definitely try the SPDIF trick the next time I hook up my mbox 2 pro.

Anyone else have any ideas? Has anyone else experienced issues with the new mbox 2 pro drivers?

Thank you all very much for your help, it is very much appreciated.

John
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2010, 04:22 PM
firebass305 firebass305 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 36
Default Re: PT9 H/W Buffer Problems. Any Ideas?

I had this problem on PT 8 too - it's not a new thing. For me, it usually happened when I was opening up a session that had been created on a different computer (not the one I was running the Mbox 2 Pro on)

Supposedly it is an issue unique to the Mbox 2 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-2010, 07:46 PM
jcmckay jcmckay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: PT9 H/W Buffer Problems. Any Ideas?

I guess that makes sense. I upgraded from 10.5 to 10.6 and PT 7.4 to PT 9. The previous sessions were created in 7.4.

Does this mean my mbox 2 pro is absolutely useless now? That would be unfortunate. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-13-2010, 03:09 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default

A lot of underflow errors used to be caused when combining FireWire 800 & 400 on the same bus.

Is this applicable to your setup?


Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-13-2010, 03:13 AM
suicune suicune is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wolverhampton, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: PT9 H/W Buffer Problems. Any Ideas?

Once had those errors from an mbox 2 pro when the firewire cable developed a fault. If you haven't tried changing the cable already I definitely would give that a go.
__________________
M2 Studios
Wolverhampton, UK
http://www.madhat.co.uk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 9 and Reason 6 get out of sync with buffer change, ideas? PabloB macOS 0 10-23-2013 10:15 PM
Having problems? Try these ideas musicman691 Tips & Tricks 1 03-23-2013 09:07 AM
Firewire problems. Any ideas? johnnyv Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 27 03-18-2010 12:35 AM
plug ins causing problems? Any ideas? edfreeze Virtual Instruments 0 02-05-2010 10:49 AM
M-Powered 6.8 Plugin problems - any ideas? Halon Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 12-17-2005 10:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com