Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2007, 12:14 AM
Ford Prefect Ford Prefect is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 48
Default Which HDD should be the fast one?

Hi folks,
I plan to buy a new HDD for my laptop. I have two already, both to slow. Which one should be the faster one? The system drive or the audio drive?
If both should be a 7200 rpm HDD can I use only one physical HDD and use different "virtuel" disc for system and audio, or is it better to have two physical HDDs?
__________________
So long and thanks for all the fish!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2007, 12:45 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Which HDD should be the fast one?

The audio drive needs to spin at 7200rpm. You don't need to replace a drive in your laptop, though (I would imagine that would be expensive). All you need is an external firewire drive.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2007, 04:28 AM
Ford Prefect Ford Prefect is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 48
Default Re: Which HDD should be the fast one?

The only reason for me to replace one HDD is to stay flexible for transport. I am a little bit lacy
__________________
So long and thanks for all the fish!

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2007, 05:47 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,845
Default Re: Which HDD should be the fast one?

Quote:
If both should be a 7200 rpm HDD can I use only one physical HDD and use different "virtuel" disc for system and audio, or is it better to have two physical HDDs?
It is highly recommended to have two physical HDDs.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.7 running Protools 2020.11
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2007, 12:40 PM
Ford Prefect Ford Prefect is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 48
Default Re: Which HDD should be the fast one?

Quote:
The audio drive needs to spin at 7200rpm. You don't need to replace a drive in your laptop, though (I would imagine that would be expensive). All you need is an external firewire drive.
Which external drives with Oxford chip are recommended? I found Maxtor and Macpower Icecube. Can I use a 6 pin firewire HDD with my 4 pin plug on the laptop? I know that the two more pins are for power supply. Are there cables with 4pin to 6pin plugs?
__________________
So long and thanks for all the fish!

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-20-2007, 06:08 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,845
Default Re: Which HDD should be the fast one?

Quote:
Can I use a 6 pin firewire HDD with my 4 pin plug on the laptop? I know that the two more pins are for power supply. Are there cables with 4pin to 6pin plugs?
Yes you can use a 6 pin firewire HDD with my 4 pin plug on the laptop. There are cables with 4pin to 6pin plugs readily available. You will need to provide power to the HDD via a power supply.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.7 running Protools 2020.11
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-21-2007, 01:55 AM
UK RAF UK RAF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 48
Default Re: Which HDD should be the fast one?

Quote:
The audio drive needs to spin at 7200rpm. You don't need to replace a drive in your laptop, though (I would imagine that would be expensive). All you need is an external firewire drive.
I have recorded several hours of 16 tracks of 16/44.1k audio on my laptop HDD (5400 rpm) without a hitch.
__________________
Digi002/PT 7.3.1
Shuttle XPC SB61G2: P4 (2.8GHz), 1Gb RAM, 80Gb SP0812N (System), 160Gb SP1614N (Data), DVDRW, NVidia 7600GS
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-21-2007, 04:14 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: Which HDD should be the fast one?

Quote:
The only reason for me to replace one HDD is to stay flexible for transport. I am a little bit lacy
Watch out though, the computer I had before this one got hot as hell when I replaced the internal hard drive which basically led to the fan starting to spin way too much and thus causing a lot of noise. I don't know about you, but I for one don't want that when dealing with audio
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New PT10 User. MBox3, MAudio Fast Track Ultra, MAudio Fast Track 8R? epu Pro Tools 10 3 06-13-2012 04:55 PM
is a g5 mac 1.8 ghz fast enough for pt benjaminflam81 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-18-2009 06:48 AM
need help FAST SublimeAndy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-02-2005 06:10 PM
Need your help fast! Mark_Knecht 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-04-2002 01:41 AM
WAY too fast!! scottgreiner Tips & Tricks 6 08-26-2002 06:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com