How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-19-2015, 05:32 PM

Default Recording multiple takes with playlist mode

Hello,

I am still somewhat new to Pro Tools. When tracking and recording multiple takes, I have started recording on one track, and using playlists until either the best take is used or the comp is finished and the resulting track is moved to it's own audio track.

My question is this: Every time the take is finished, I find myself having to grab the take from the top "waveform" area of the track and drop it down to the bottom thin sliver area of the playlists to move it into "storage" and create room for a new playlist. Is there any way for Pro Tools to do this automatically?

Basically, I hope it doesn't sound lazy, but I would like to just be able to hit "3" to record the take, then when the take is finished, and just hit "3" again to begin recording right from the same insertion point and have PT automatically drop the take to a new playlist area.

Does this make sense?

Thanks in advance
Old 05-19-2015, 05:41 PM

one more question!!!

Are the playlists when soloed playing at a lower volume than when they are copied into the main track?

meaning when they are still just being previewed as takes inside the playlists are they at a lower volume then when you hit the up arrow button to copy them into the main playlist?

Is there any way to adjust that?

Thanks
Old 05-19-2015, 08:26 PM

I can tell you are confused and its rubbing off on me. I suggest going to youtube and watching some videos on using playlists in pro tools.