Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-22-2004, 07:56 PM

Default PT III SCSI hard drive and disk I/O help!!!

hi all

im new to the group so any help would be appriciated. i recently purchased a pro tools III system and i have been putting the whole thing back together to make it work. i originally had just the disk I/O and DSP farm card. i got the 882 and appropriate cable, now i needed the hard drives. i went onto ebay and bought 2 avid is9 hard drives. i figured since it is avid, it should work. these drives appear to be 68pin drives. (i think..... im new to this) and on the disk I/O card there are 2 jacks. a square looking one with a bunch of pins (also on DSP farm card) and this small looking jack. i assume the square one is for the interface and the other is for the hard drive. i got some cables from a friend who has a mix 24 system. he gave me what looks like an old scsi cable, and some 68 pin to some small plug cable that i thought would fit the disk I/O. he said it would fit a mix card to the hard drive. but it was too big for the small jack on the disk I/O....soo...here are my questions:

will the avid is9 drives work with my system. they are 68pin . i think PT III is on 50pin??

what cable do i need to make this work?-prefer avid model number so i can find it.

will an adaptor work if i need one?

what is the other port on the DSP farm card for?

or do i have to ditch these drives and the cables (sigh) and buy an older drive or something??

help!!!!!

joe
Old 05-23-2004, 07:54 AM

Default Re: PT III SCSI hard drive and disk I/O help!!!