Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2011, 12:36 PM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,175
Default Question low latency monitoring on 3rd party gear?

In the reference, the section on low latency monitoring states (if I get this correctly) that you can use low latency monitoring with any record armed tracks routed to Output 1 and 2. My question is what exactly is output 1 and 2? Is it phyiscal output as provided the core audio driver? Say in the case of my 828mk3 analog 1 and 2 are the first outputs available from the core audio driver. Or is it a logical mapping? Again, in the case of my 828mk3 I use the S/PDIF outs as my mains. If I simply move those outs to the top of the ouput and/or bus mappings, do they become output 1 and 2? Any help appreciated.
__________________
PT 2019.10 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1909)
PT 2019.10 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2011, 07:51 PM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,175
Default Re: Question low latency monitoring on 3rd party gear?

Really . . . no takers. In PT9, I don't have an Output 1 or 2 in the I/O setup for my 828mk3 interface - even after clicking default on all of the I/O tabs. How does LLM work in PT10 with third party interfaces. Is it fixed on whatever pair comes first from core audio, defined as whatever you select as your default outputs or whatever you move to the top of the I/O selections? Any or all of the above? LLM 3rd party is new in PT 10 and a question that needs to be answered before upgrading. TIA
__________________
PT 2019.10 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1909)
PT 2019.10 DP 10.01 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-20-2011, 07:27 PM
RonB456 RonB456 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 29
Default Re: Question low latency monitoring on 3rd party gear?

i'm still looking for an answer to the low latency thing with third party soundcard, why is it so hard to find an answer to this?
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" (2 Ghz Intel Core i7 Quad core, 8GB RAM)
OS X (snow leopard)
Digi 003 Factory
Pro Tools 9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2011, 12:05 PM
ondruspat ondruspat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Lansing, Michigan USA
Posts: 1,142
Default Re: Question low latency monitoring on 3rd party gear?

I'm not sure (as I have an 002 running PT8) but I'm pretty sure that LLM is related only to Avid/Digidesign hardware. To be honest I record at my lowest buffer settings and never use it...
__________________
"Sometimes having limits keeps you sane"- Albee1952
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-22-2011, 03:59 AM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,200
Default Re: Question low latency monitoring on 3rd party gear?

In all fairness, any who has used an Avid interface in the past, who now uses a third party interface will find the term 'Low Latency Monitoring' misleading.

In the case of third party interfaces, all Pro Tools does is disable software monitoring, send and inserts for record enabled tracks assigned to output 1-2. The monitoring then needs to be switched on in cuemix etc.

I have an 828mk3 also and would be interested to know this, best thing is for one of us to try it. Theoretically, the default outputs are assigned in the motu audio setup app, if this was changed to main out 1-2, SPDIF 1-2 etc it might be with hitting default in the i/o tab to see if Pro Tools updates the i/o ad hoc.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2011, 01:53 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: Question low latency monitoring on 3rd party gear?

If you open up Pro Tools I/O and you select outputs and then select the 1st two outputs can you send them to the Digital out from there instead of the defaualt main outputs? This would be how I would set up a normal in/out path and generally can choose what outputs 1 and 2 actually come out of my hardware from here.

I also know with MOTU it comes with the mixer software so you can assign inputs to go dirextly out of each output with individual volume for every input your hardware has built in.

Good Luck
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Low Latency Monitoring" with 3rd Party Interfaces RokVox Pro Tools 11 10 03-02-2016 01:52 AM
No low latency monitoring in 10.3.1. Third party interface Greenroomstudio macOS 4 10-06-2012 08:22 AM
Low Latency Monitoring with 3rd party interfaces - details? Rich Breen Pro Tools 10 13 10-26-2011 03:19 PM
Third party hardware and Low Latency Monitoring The Dougfather Pro Tools 9 3 11-05-2010 08:03 PM
Latency w/ outboard gear question..please help danocaster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-05-2002 04:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com