Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2005, 07:23 PM
kontrol kontrol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Default a good way to get rid of popping noise (clipping)

Im new to protools, just got it yesterday, however I am some what experienced with recording. My quesiton is, after recording an audio track and u want you're recording to fit into a sertain amount of bars....what is the best technique so that you dont need to use fades to hide the clipping noises after trimming?

P.S. I understand that you need to trim the wave in the audio when it crosses 0...but is there better/faster way of doing this? thanks to anyone who can help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2005, 08:12 PM
BxThree1 BxThree1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 92
Default Re: a good way to get rid of popping noise (clipping)

use a compressor you can use the one that comes with protools.
__________________
Hip Hop B.D.B.C
Boogie Down By Committee
© 2004 Stylez, INC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2005, 08:58 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: a good way to get rid of popping noise (clippi

Quote:
use a compressor you can use the one that comes with protools.
You are joking, aren't you?
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2005, 05:28 AM
RadioMoo RadioMoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 628
Default Re: a good way to get rid of popping noise (clippi

Why don't you want to use fades? The crossfades in PTLE (Command+F) do a good job of masking those pops and blending edited stuff together - if you don't select too large of an area.

You could try making your cuts a little too long, then using the Trimmer tool (F6) to trim them to the point that you want to use, which would also trim out the pop.
__________________
Mbox 1 w/BLA mod, PTLE 6.1, eMac 700MHz, OS X (10.2.8), 1024 MB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clicking and Popping Noise Funkle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 28 09-05-2010 02:17 PM
How much clipping is good clipping ? jaunmanuek The Drum Room 9 04-12-2010 05:49 PM
Popping noise Stickman7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-26-2009 05:59 PM
good way to get rid of popping noise (clipping) kontrol Tips & Tricks 7 07-22-2008 07:01 PM
help with 002, popping noise DLinares 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 01-16-2006 11:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com