Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-11-2015, 03:48 PM
G0tcha G0tcha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Rssn Fdrtn
Posts: 1
Default Re: Mbox 3 and El Capitan drivers

Dear developers!
Please click one of the Quick Reply icons in the posts above to activate Quick Reply...
Please...

Спасибо
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-17-2015, 03:52 AM
Ormond Ormond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Bernardino, CA USA
Posts: 279
Default Re: Mbox 3 and El Capitan drivers

Yes - just installed 10.11,1 (November 17th) and it is a no go. Can I go back to Yosemite until AVID fixes this.
And why doesn't AVID ever read/answer these threads? I went though agony when I was trying to get my harness problems solved with the DIGI 002. And, it's still $40 for a one time call to AVID for help. My God.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-17-2015, 06:31 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Mbox 3 and El Capitan drivers

Which MBox 3 do you have? Avid always put out notifications to not upgrade to the latest OSX until it is supported: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...EUCON-and-ISIS

Best practice is to not upgrade until all your hardware and software are supported, or at least make a backup so you can downgrade if something isn't working.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-17-2015, 02:41 PM
Ormond Ormond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Bernardino, CA USA
Posts: 279
Default Re: Mbox 3 and El Capitan drivers

Thank you, Joel. I am messed up and since the MacBook Pro is new and I did not use Time Machine I don't have any access to Yosemite or the incredibly complex process of reinstalling it. I will just wait
To answer your question, I have the M box 3 regular. Not the mini, not the pro. But, do you think when they update the driver for El Capitan that the driver will work for pro tools First as well as ProTools 12? I am still using ProTools LE 8.03 on a mac mini with snow leopard. As I am not a power user I don't know that I want to spend the money on version 12 yet. I was hoping to work with pro tools First for a while before I decided.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-18-2015, 01:08 PM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Mbox 3 and El Capitan drivers

The driver should not be dependant on what DAW you use (Pro Tools or otherwise).

I don't know of a timeline for qualification of the other Mbox 3's, but they aren't listed in the no longer getting support sections, so that is good!

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-04-2015, 12:04 PM
Ormond Ormond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Bernardino, CA USA
Posts: 279
Default Re: Mbox 3 and El Capitan drivers

Joel - I am not sure what you mean by "the driver is not dependent on the DAW." Maybe for playback, but I cannot record through my MBox3 because the box is not recognized due to the current driver no longer being supported. And, yes, the MBox3 will be supported because the MBox2 has been dropped. Had all the MBox's been dropped the outrage would be crazy.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-04-2015, 01:38 PM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Mbox 3 and El Capitan drivers

I was answering "But, do you think when they update the driver for El Capitan that the driver will work for pro tools First as well as ProTools 12? " The driver doesn't care what DAW you use, PT First, PT 12, Logic etc.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-12-2015, 04:15 AM
iasandy iasandy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Coconut Creek, FL
Posts: 14
Default Re: Mbox 3 and El Capitan drivers

I have MBox 3rd gen and same here. Install their latest Mac driver and it simply will not be recognized as a sound output device selection in El Capitan, which obviously won't appear within PT's for use.

Any more news on this? I could potentially see third party controllers being slower to come up with a fix. But with this being an Avid product, I have to admit that this is taking a much longer lead time than I would have expected for a driver bug fix.

Avid, thanks for anything you can do to help push this along. We can use it! :)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-16-2015, 09:46 AM
Ormond Ormond is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Bernardino, CA USA
Posts: 279
Default Re: Mbox 3 and El Capitan drivers

I don't think they can be pushed along. I have been importing .aiff files into PTFirst to see how a stripped down PT12 might work. I would like to buy the full blown 12 but I won't till I know if the MBox3 is going to be supported. For me it is a cash allocation problem. If I have to buy another box it is going to be the UA Apollo Duet and that is an $800+ purchase. I can't afford both the Duet and PT12. Meanwhile, I am stuck using PT8.03 on a Mac running Snow Leopard.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-08-2016, 04:17 AM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: Mbox 3 and El Capitan drivers

Still no El Capitan drivers for Mbox 3 and Mbox 3 Mini? Avid, come on!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
El Capitan and Mbox 2 Drivers. thegame15 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 26 11-26-2016 05:26 PM
S3 and El Capitan - no go Cliffy_Boy Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 9 11-16-2015 07:27 AM
PT12 and El Capitan Cliffy_Boy Pro Tools 12 64 10-26-2015 07:12 AM
El Capitan mastertstudio Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 21 10-25-2015 03:55 PM
El Capitan OSX Becharax General Discussion 30 10-07-2015 03:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com