Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2019, 08:22 AM
krabbencutter krabbencutter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: germany
Posts: 76
Default AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

http://www.avidblogs.com/pro-tools-2019-fall/


Pretty underwhelming if you're not a PT Ultimate user
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2019, 08:36 AM
WorldStudios WorldStudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 811
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

Pretty useless/uninteresting if you're not a PT Ultimate user doing sound to VIDEO!

This is not worth paying a single cent for, to me.
__________________
Johan Bejerholm
World Studios
Sweden

Phone +46707773443
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2019, 08:39 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,191
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

About time POST gets some love... but the one thing that benefits all users is work on Avid Video Engine which is the one that prevents current PT from launching on Catalina.

This still didnt say anything about compatibility, it also didn't mention anything about HDX Voice Upgrade, so maybe purely new features this time? We shall see soon. Not supporting Catalina is no surprise at this time, but if the HDX upgrade still isn't released that would be a surprise.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-16-2019, 08:55 AM
cqd cqd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 107
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

Ah well..it's been emotional, Pro Tools..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2019, 09:20 AM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 813
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

!!! Awesome.

This is great news. PT has needed an AVE refresh for a long time now.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreXiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-16-2019, 09:59 AM
Anthony Jr.'s Avatar
Anthony Jr. Anthony Jr. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 125
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

As a Native user who primarily uses ProTools for video work, this is extremely exciting for me. I was wondering where this update was in the process since they announced they were working on the video engine a good number of months back (around the time of the last update).

To give reference, the best playing video in ProTools is typically standard definition in containers / codecs I don't usually use. I'm a freelance cinematographer (main career) who also randomly has an audio background. Needless to say, doing audio work with ProTools is the time where I get to finally see and feel the way the film / commercial works outside of rudimentary leveling during video editing. Marrying in 4K to the process is going to be really cool.

Similarly, half of my posts on the DUC are probably related to my undying critique of AVID's slow release cycle when it comes to new OS compatibility (since I typically like to keep my system updated alongside compatibility for my video editing apps). Hearing this video engine replacement will also help move along Catalina compatibility is a great start.
__________________
2018 18-Core iMac Pro / 64GB RAM / Mojave 10.14.3 / Protools 2018.12 / Apollo 8XP / Love
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-16-2019, 10:04 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,191
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony Jr. View Post
Hearing this video engine replacement will also help move along Catalina compatibility is a great start.
Just an educated guess, pure speculation
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-16-2019, 05:37 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,617
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
About time POST gets some love...
Yeah, So many times there are updates that purely relate to music production. Which is great! But I'm glad the post functionality has been improved.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-16-2019, 06:17 PM
Ed Douglas's Avatar
Ed Douglas Ed Douglas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Toronto Ont, Canada
Posts: 253
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Young View Post
Yeah, So many times there are updates that purely relate to music production. Which is great! But I'm glad the post functionality has been improved.
Ditto. I'm looking forward to the Atmos workflow improvements as well.
__________________
Neotech Concepts
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0235036/
! sonic gymnastics for the illusionary arts !

2019 i9 MacBook Pro (15,3), macOSX 10.14.6, PT Ultimate 2019.10.494, Atmos Production Suite 3.2, MDA Creator1.5, Rx7 Advanced, Ozone 8 Advanced, Kontakt 6.2, Soundminer v4.5Pro, Spanner 3.0.5, SoundHack 0.896
EuControl 19.12.0.56, Avid Control 19.12.26, iPad Pro 12.9" gen 1, iPad Pro 12.9" gen 3, Apollo 8 Duo tb2, UAD-2 Satellite Quad tb2, Glyph 2TB tb3 NVMe SSD, x2 Glyph 2TB SSDs, x1 Glyph 4TB SSD, OWC tb3 Dock, OWC Thunderbay 4 28TB, Avid S1 soon to be here
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-16-2019, 07:07 PM
bolooki bolooki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 91
Default Re: AES Update for Pro Tools 2019

I only work on music. this update plan is always a waste of money...


we need PDC in side chain inputs so bad.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does Pro Tools 2018 update to 2019? Lotus Studio Licensing & Accounts 6 06-16-2019 03:04 PM
nudging tracks in VCA spill broken since Eucon 2019.5 update yoerik Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control 1 06-10-2019 11:09 AM
S5 & Pro Tools 2019.5 MarcOFB System 5 6 05-13-2019 09:15 AM
Avid Pro Tools 2019 Perpetual License - Update through 03-30-20 Ted Swan Buy & Sell 0 05-09-2019 05:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com