Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2008, 08:31 AM
Rehb Rehb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 25
Default FWx and Venue???

This is one to everyone...

I read somewhere on the digi site that in 2005 the FWx card in Venue systems was going to support 32 channels?! Now is it 16in and 16 out simultaneous or is it 32 in/0 out or is the system still only 18i/o? I'm only curious because i was going to book one for a gig to take it for a test but only 18 channels Record... Have had to go with the Roland Vmixing system and (thumbs down) cakewalk PC instead because that way i can get my 32 channels and waste a few if i feel too.

I'm crapping on a bit but any push forward with 32 channels into LE from the FWx? We can all make that happen for most acts. Will it appear with PT 8 or was it a broken promise?

Cheers!
PS: 1 Day i will find a client who will pay to have this on a show so i can see how it fairs
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2008, 08:28 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: FWx and Venue???

Hi,

The FWx FireWire connection is currently 18 in, 18 out simultaneously. More tracks are obviously preferred, so the challenge for us (and any company with finite engineering resources) is balancing the development cost against the immediate need, as well as against all of the other hardware and software features we're being asked for. At best it's a tough balance that's nearly impossible to get right for 100% of customers 100% of the time.

For a bit of historical perspective, some of the things that have been given priority are:
- making 18 tracks of FWx work on both Mac and PC (originally it was PC only...and we all know how well that would have been received )
- developing the Pro Tools TDM HDx interface to allow up to 128 tracks
- designing the popular VENUE Profile control surface and new Mix Rack

...and so on. Looking back, I think these were the right decisions, tough as they were to make.

So to answer your question directly, no, Pro Tools 8 will not unlock additional FWx tracks or functionality. I wish it was as simple as changing "18" to "32" in a few lines of code and presto - 32 tracks of FireWire just works! If it was, we'd be there already, believe me.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2008, 06:52 PM
Nicolas Lowman Nicolas Lowman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 103
Default Re: FWx and Venue???

Hi Sheldon,

This would be truly AWESOME upgrade, if it could happen. I would really like to see it. I am not sure how many other people are using this card right now, but it would sure be handy.

Thanks,
Nicolas
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2009, 08:08 AM
Justin Bartlett Justin Bartlett is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Posts: 18
Default Re: FWx and Venue???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheldon Radford View Post
Hi,

The FWx FireWire connection is currently 18 in, 18 out simultaneously. More tracks are obviously preferred, so the challenge for us (and any company with finite engineering resources) is balancing the development cost against the immediate need, as well as against all of the other hardware and software features we're being asked for. At best it's a tough balance that's nearly impossible to get right for 100% of customers 100% of the time.

For a bit of historical perspective, some of the things that have been given priority are:
- making 18 tracks of FWx work on both Mac and PC (originally it was PC only...and we all know how well that would have been received )
- developing the Pro Tools TDM HDx interface to allow up to 128 tracks
- designing the popular VENUE Profile control surface and new Mix Rack

...and so on. Looking back, I think these were the right decisions, tough as they were to make.

So to answer your question directly, no, Pro Tools 8 will not unlock additional FWx tracks or functionality. I wish it was as simple as changing "18" to "32" in a few lines of code and presto - 32 tracks of FireWire just works! If it was, we'd be there already, believe me.

Sheldon
Sheldon-

Is it too much to hope for that an entirely hypothetical new, smaller mixer (we'll nickname it the Sound Console 48) will be able to handle more than 18 channels to and from Pro Tools LE?

My church would likely be very interested in such a console, but that interest is much stronger if the PTLE channel count is closer to 32 than 18, as my primary use would be recording services for use as training for our sound people. 18 channels is really sparse for that, but there's no way I'll be able to find money in the budget for a Profile and an HD rig.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-06-2009, 01:49 PM
James Drake James Drake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 592
Default Re: FWx and Venue???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheldon Radford View Post
I wish it was as simple as changing "18" to "32" in a few lines of code and presto - 32 tracks of FireWire just works! If it was, we'd be there already, believe me.
what about those few specific versions of pt that allowed 32 i/o with an m-audio interface by accident?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-07-2009, 05:45 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: FWx and Venue???

Hi James,

Quote:
Originally Posted by James Drake View Post
what about those few specific versions of pt that allowed 32 i/o with an m-audio interface by accident?
Not all FireWire devices use the same hardware and software, which explains why different products have different capabilities.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New webinar: Meet the VENUE SC48 Remote System, Stage 48, and VENUE 3 bobcats VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 03-24-2012 07:35 AM
Opening Venue.. use Venue? DublineProductions VENUE Live Sound Systems 24 07-13-2011 06:54 PM
Venue D Show vs Venue Profile dsmithbsaaudio@cox.net VENUE Live Sound Systems 14 07-06-2011 02:31 PM
VENUE D-Show 2.8 Standalone Software for VENUE SC48 Avid VENUE Live Sound Systems 0 05-13-2009 12:30 AM
Digi where is the Venue venue? RobMacki Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-14-2004 07:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com