Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2009, 04:11 AM
NoiseyKiwi NoiseyKiwi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 11
Talking Blips when recalling snapshots

Hi everyone,
I'm doing a theatre show at the moment (Miss Saigon) running 31 radios and orchestra of 32 channels.
When I recall some snapshots I hear a blip.
Does anyone know it the software unmutes, then assigns the VCA's?
This is a problem I have had before with another digital console of similar stature in the sound community.

Cheers.

Glen.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-02-2009, 10:27 PM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: Blips when recalling snapshots

Hi Glen,

I suspect it is possible to get a momentary bleed, given the right combination of muting/unmuting and VCA assignment/de-assignment when transitioning between snapshots. Try adding a very brief (0.1 sec) crossfade to each snapshot and see if that helps.

Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2009, 12:45 AM
NoiseyKiwi NoiseyKiwi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 11
Default Re: Blips when recalling snapshots

Hi Sheldon,

I have a 0.5 sec X-fade on all snapshots. This was a problem I had on the Vi6 also.

Basically I have all the chorus muted and not always assigned to a VCA, so some snapshots assign VCA and unmute some channels, with the blip i mentioned.

Cheers

Glen.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2009, 07:45 AM
Chris Johnson Chris Johnson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 145
Default Re: Blips when recalling snapshots

I had this same problem on a tour! for me it seemed like inputs were temporarily jumping to full volume. seemed to disappear since 2.7.1 though...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-2009, 01:53 AM
NoiseyKiwi NoiseyKiwi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 11
Default Re: Blips when recalling snapshots

Thought I'd let you guys know, Digi have contacted me off line, and are saying the software update will more than likely fix the problem as "There are some improvements to the Snapshot parameter ordering which may eliminate the "blips" you were
describing."

I'll keep you posted but it is looking good.

G.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quantizing makes notes into blips blahblah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-03-2012 10:46 PM
Digital Noise Blips on LE Mbox2 Mini hotgravy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-29-2010 04:02 PM
Snapshots for multiple bands with Snapshots? thirdrailrecording VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 03-24-2010 05:04 AM
Blips in Bounced Files DaleB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-13-2000 06:13 AM
Weird digital blips Dennis Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-14-2000 12:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com