Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-08-2018, 08:26 PM
jmo1112 jmo1112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Default PT10 Crackles and Pops with ANY plugin activated

Hi. Posted this on RME's forum, but once it became clear it was a PT issue, I think they lost interest.

I have an RME Babyface. I'm on Windows 10 desktop, running Pro Tools 10.3.9. I run this machine with Pro Tools almost everyday. For the past two days, when I activate any plugin, and I mean just ONE plugin on ONE channel, I get terrible crackling and popping. Checked my buffer size, and it's up at 1024. Tried with other buffer sizes. Restarted the machine about 10 times. Tried 3 different USB cables. Tried a different USB port. Nothing seems to help.I didn't change anything from one day to the next. I pulled up a session I had been working on the day before, and suddenly I can't use plugins without the popping.

Reverb plugins seem to cause the most problems. Avid/Digidesign plugins cause popping, but not nearly as bad as third party plugins.

Also, on other programs that use VST, this does NOT seem to be a problem. It's really only with RTAS plugins.

Anyone have any ideas?

Link to the original thread at RME:
https://www.forum.rme-audio.de/viewt...129332#p129332
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2018, 11:53 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,965
Default Re: PT10 Crackles and Pops with ANY plugin activated

I had similar issues, but overall not just caused by plug-ins. Have a look here.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2018, 12:41 PM
jmo1112 jmo1112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Default Re: PT10 Crackles and Pops with ANY plugin activated

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
I had similar issues, but overall not just caused by plug-ins. Have a look here.
Holy moly. That's quite informative. Surely my issue is in there somewhere.

Currently trying to record a vocal with a stem playing (so two total tracks running) with zero plugins active, CPU (Native) at 3%, and my session is getting stopped with an Error 9128: You're running out of CPU power.

This is frustrating, to say the least.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-12-2018, 12:42 PM
jmo1112 jmo1112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 27
Default Re: PT10 Crackles and Pops with ANY plugin activated

Figured it out. Totally unrelated hardware issue. Two USB 3.0 PCI-e cards were creating weird issues. So now on to new problems...

Glad I now know where to find some RME issues if/when I get them.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-12-2018, 02:27 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,381
Default Re: PT10 Crackles and Pops with ANY plugin activated

Not to mention PT10 & Win10 are not considered compatible by Avid.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pops, crackles, stutters, and no sound while using Ample Guitar Plugin? jakevegas79 Pro Tools Software (Win) 4 05-04-2014 06:28 AM
Pops&Crackles! camawe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 43 11-04-2010 11:43 AM
Pops and crackles mickaz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-30-2007 01:08 AM
CRACKLES N POPS glecain Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 01-02-2007 02:49 PM
Pops and crackles chris jordan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-01-2000 02:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com