Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 09-21-2007, 05:31 AM
Arno Peeters's Avatar
Arno Peeters Arno Peeters is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 1,091
Default Re: Firewire410 Problems with sound output

It's a driver issue for sure: by M-Audio:
Quote:
XP on any Mac is not supported by anyone, including Apple and Microsoft.

The way the firmware is initiated on XP vs. OS X is different and can cause the firmware to freeze. To fix this simply reload the FireWire device on the last system that the FireWire device was running on.

Due to known issues with the 1.8.2 driver, I recommend following the procedure below to install the 1.7.4 driver.

I also confirmed that there are several issues with PT on 10.4.10.

Because of known issues with the OS X automatic software update many manufactures, along with M-Audio recommend downloading and installing the Mac OS X 10.4.10 "combo" update. This "combo" update ensures that all operating system files are installed and up to date; and does NOT require that you format and re-install everything. Leave the FireWire 410 disconnected for now.

Intel Mac: http://www.apple.com/support/downloa...ev11intel.html

After installing the "combo" update, follow these steps to reinstall the FireWire 410 drivers [Please follow them exactly]:

1. Repair disk permissions. [Hard drive > Applications > Utilities Folder > Disk Utility] - Choose Macintosh HD when the utility launches and click repair disk permissions.
2. Uninstall the Specific M-Audio device driver using our 1.7.4 driver download - Make sure that the device is disconnected.

http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=....drivers&f=747

3. Repair disk permissions again.
4. Install the latest driver.
5. Repair disk permissions.
6. Shut down, connect the FireWire 410 and restart.

If you are connecting an M-Audio FireWire device you do NOT want to use the AC power adapter [except for the ProjectMix I/O and the NRV10]. It will get all the power it needs from the FireWire cable.


__________________
Arno Peeters
Tape TV Productions
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 09-21-2007, 08:05 AM
Tom Stoeckel Tom Stoeckel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 45
Default Re: Firewire410 Problems with sound output

Quote:
Today windows Xp is probably the most stable os out there :-(
Last night I decided to see how stable the 1814 was in XP. I have a very solid Windows XP Pro system that I use for work (I'm a software programmer). I downloaded the latest XP drivers from M-Audio, installed them and reset the system with the 1814 connected. I then opened up the M-Audio control panel so I could monitor input and output meter levels. Initially all was well but it took mere minutes (closer to seconds) before I was getting M-Audio error dialogs telling me there was NO firewire device connected. This happened several times (with full system restarts in between) until it finally crashed hard enough to launch my Visual Studio debugger on the M-Audio control panel .dll file. All in all, FAR less stable than running on OS X.

So ... either the Windows drivers are even worse than the OSX drivers or I have a defective 1814 since it won't work in either OS.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 09-21-2007, 08:54 AM
JrummerJ JrummerJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 492
Default Re: Firewire410 Problems with sound output

Quote:
Quote:

Quote:
My macbook pro (10.4.10 combo) was just purchased this past july
... which proves you don't have the new chipset and why, I believe, you're not having the problem Tom is.
Actually, I think we have the same generation of MacBooks. The Santa Rosa revisions were introduced in June in 2.2 and 2.4Ghz versions. I have the 2.4 and he has the 2.2. Perhaps the main difference between us is the 410 versus 1814 interface? Or maybe, I have a defective 1814?
Correct, all the new macbook pros use the santa rosa chip set.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 09-21-2007, 09:32 AM
JrummerJ JrummerJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 492
Default Re: Firewire410 Problems with sound output

Quote:
Okay! I give up. I'm on a Mac Pro DESKTOP! from october/2006. This is not the right forum I get that now (you've got to have a laptop).
I have been reading on the Pro Tools LE forum. People with M-boxes and 002's are having kernel panics too. Their panic logs look the same as mine. I think this is a major MAC problem. And I switched to mac to be able to make music without problems- what a joke!!! Today windows Xp is probably the most stable os out there :-(
I don't think you are on the wrong forum, it's just that most of us that have posted seem to have laptops.

Good Luck.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 09-21-2007, 11:48 AM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,820
Default Re: Firewire410 Problems with sound output

Quote:
Correct, all the new macbook pros use the santa rosa chip set.
Do you happen to have DiskWarrior or TechTool Pro? I'd love to see if your 2.2G machine boots from those discs.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 09-21-2007, 12:30 PM
JrummerJ JrummerJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 492
Default Re: Firewire410 Problems with sound output

Quote:
Quote:
Correct, all the new macbook pros use the santa rosa chip set.
Do you happen to have DiskWarrior or TechTool Pro? I'd love to see if your 2.2G machine boots from those discs.
You'll have to help me out here, I am new to macs as of july 31st. What would the fact that my macbook pro could or could not boot from one of those discs have anything to do with the problems people are having with their audio interfaces? I bought the apple care, so apparently I have Tech Tool Deluxe for Apple Care. Is this the same?

J
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 09-21-2007, 01:27 PM
Tom Stoeckel Tom Stoeckel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 45
Default Re: Firewire410 Problems with sound output

I imagine he is just trying to see if there is a difference between the 2.2 and 2.4Ghz machines.

When I got my 2.4Ghz MacBook Pro in July I upgraded my TechTool Deluxe (that came with AppleCare) to TechTool Pro. When I tried to boot off the bootable DVD, my MacBook would crash with a kernel panic. Eventually I learned that the chipset on my MacBook was newer and thus not bootable using the TechTool DVD I was sent. I had to contact Micromat directly and they sent me a newer DVD that booted just fine. Apparently the ability to boot from a disc is very closely tied to the chipset of your machine.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 09-24-2007, 09:23 AM
exiter exiter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 16
Default Re: Firewire410 Problems with sound output

Deleted by exiter
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 09-25-2007, 02:34 AM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default Re: Firewire410 Problems SOLVED(?)

Last week I re-arranged my studio and to save a bit of desk space i put my FIREWIRE 410 up right, on its right hand edge (up right like an mbox) and i have not had the reset/no sound problem ONCE since i moved it!
Can someone else try it?
I'm working on the road next week, i will road test this new "solution"...
__________________
Mac Computers/PT12/Lots Of Lacie D2s
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 09-25-2007, 08:32 AM
Tom Stoeckel Tom Stoeckel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 45
Default Re: Firewire410 Problems SOLVED(?)

A friend of mine loaned me his 1814 to swap into my system and verify what I already came to believe - that the interface is just defective. Thus far it has worked without a hitch for 17 straight hours, including time spent in Pro Tools. That's about 16-1/2 hours longer than my longest up time with MY 1814. I informed M-Audio of this final test, obtained an RA and will be shipping my 1814 back to them.

Hopefully the unit I get back will be as solid as the one I'm using right now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT10 on OSX10.8 - Firewire410 has VANISHED? leonardrock Pro Tools 10 2 03-29-2013 01:15 PM
FireWire410...WHERE ART THOU? spunkynuts8 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 06-01-2006 10:57 PM
firewire410 price lowered !!! neatguys 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-28-2005 06:41 PM
Sound output 001/ various newbie problems junior phoenix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-11-2004 03:19 PM
sound output problems chagos 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-28-2004 01:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com