Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-28-2016, 03:52 AM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 128
Default Alert! AAF Bug MC - PT

Hi guys,

I just explored a bug, that is confirmed by my dealer:

In new Mediacomposer versions (eg. 8.6.2), it is possible to use "i" and "p" formats in the same timeline (eg. 1080i and 1080p). This results in shifted audio (more than 2sec.) in clips, that are imported via AAF in Pro Tools. Not every audio is shifted, only a few pieces (the mixed ones).
Every PT version before 12.5.2 (12.5 not tested) shows this issue.

I find it rediculous, that AVID was silent on this.


Cheers
Maik
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2016, 08:59 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 186
Default Re: Alert! AAF Bug MC - PT

Just to clear things up, is it fixed in 12.5.2 ?

To add some AAF issues, I've found there can be a difference in dragging an AAF into the timeline and using the 'import session data' from the menu (the latter is working properly). The regions are in place but referencing the wrong audio (or wrong part of the audio). I haven't delved too deep into the issue though...

Last edited by Farhoof; 09-28-2016 at 10:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2016, 02:44 PM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 128
Default Re: Alert! AAF Bug MC - PT

...yes, it's fixed in 12.5.2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2016, 07:25 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 918
Default Re: Alert! AAF Bug MC - PT

Quote:
Originally Posted by marsian View Post
Hi guys,
In new Mediacomposer versions (eg. 8.6.2), it is possible to use "i" and "p" formats in the same timeline
Can you confirm this to be the only cause for this bug?
We have run into similar issues and all the production sound was shifted, only the Music tracks and recorded guide Vo clips were in sync.
__________________
Vedat

Check out WaveRider + Defaulter:
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-04-2016, 05:35 AM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 128
Default Re: Alert! AAF Bug MC - PT

Hi Vedat,

no, I can't confirm, that this is the only cause. It's what my dealer told me and what I experienced. But I made no tests with different MC Material.


Cheers
Maik
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-04-2016, 11:58 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 918
Default Re: Alert! AAF Bug MC - PT

OK thanks.
I am just digging as much information as I can to be able to feed back to the editors for a smoother workflow.
__________________
Vedat

Check out WaveRider + Defaulter:
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-05-2016, 01:30 AM
garret garret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ireland
Posts: 561
Default Re: Alert! AAF Bug MC - PT

We've had this issue but opening the aaf in pt10 works correctly and then we just save the session open in pt12. Good to hear potential causes of this issue. Thanks.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-05-2016, 01:50 AM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 918
Default Re: Alert! AAF Bug MC - PT

For us anything below 12.5 is messed up.
__________________
Vedat

Check out WaveRider + Defaulter:
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-20-2016, 08:05 AM
marsian marsian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 128
Default New Alert! AAF Bug MC 8 -> PT 12.5.2

Hey guys,

the former mentioned bug was fixed in HD 12.5.2. But I discovered a new bug in PT 12.5.2 and 12.6.1:
When there is interlaced 30FPS material mixed with 25p or 50i in the timeline, then there is an offset in the audio AAF out of Mediacomposer 8.6. It is only visible when importing in Pro Tools. When imported in MC it is as it should be.
This bug ist NOT in Pro Tools 11.3.2!

And after a few hard crashes and video sync problems in HD 12.5.2, I switched back to PT 11.3.2 and Blackmagic driver 10.4.3. So far it feels way more stable.

I'm really disappointed of Avid. It seems that the newer the version you use, the more bugs are in there.
If version 12.7 won't fix that bugs, we won't upgrade support for our three systems next year.

It's a shame.


Cheers
Maik

Last edited by marsian; 12-20-2016 at 10:01 AM. Reason: new findings
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-15-2017, 12:22 AM
_underscoreaudio _underscoreaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 1
Default Re: Alert! AAF Bug MC - PT

I am still getting this issue with Pro Tools |HD 12.7.1, but only when doing SRC on import.

ie, 25fps project converting to 24fps using 46080Hz option gives me the correct edits, referencing the incorrect section of audio.

Any concrete ideas on how to get around this, other than importing the AAF at 25fps and X-Form ing everything?

Edit: to update - OMF's seem to import just fine*, so this works for short projects. Encapsulated AAF's definitely do not work when doing SRC conversion

*By fine, the OMF we ended up working with did the SRC properly, and the edit points and corresponding audio were in the correct places, but the whole thing was down the timeline by 10sec and 10 frames. I don't know if that's the result of a frantic editor running back and forth between his machine and mine, or if it's another bug.

Last edited by _underscoreaudio; 03-15-2017 at 02:50 AM. Reason: additional information
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Long alert -jam Red Raven Audio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-11-2014 05:34 PM
New Product Alert... The Weed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-27-2009 03:18 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com