Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-15-2007, 11:04 PM

Default Which Surround Monitor Controller...?

... would you recommend. I've been using the SPL but am not totally thrilled. It's a bit clunky & big on my desk, doesn't have talkback, has already bust a channel once. Been looking at the C|24 but it's a bit overkill as I'm a composer... would love to have just its master section! I love the grace 906, but not sure why I would need any onboard d/a converters. I do need at least 2 stereo ins, which the coleman doesn't seem to have. Also posted this in the Post section.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks so much!
Joel
Old 11-16-2007, 12:16 AM

Default Re: Which Surround Monitor Controller...?

Hi Joel,

I have been using the Grace m906 for the past 2 years and it is a great monitor system. I have a 192 connected digitally to the AES surround and AES stereo 1 + 2 inputs, through a digital patchbay. This allows me to route the outputs of my pro tools session or any of the other devices on the patchbay (e.g. Tascam DVR recorder, external stereo AD converters) to the m906 inputs. The DA converters on the m906 are excellent, as is the stepped volume control, headphone output, talkback mic preamp, etc.