Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Old 07-04-2007, 12:51 AM

Default Total newbie to surround and a lot of questions

Hi there,

I run a PTHD2 accell set and do mostly TV. I've been considering upgrading my studio to surround, because I do some independant docu's and want to be able to produce a surround mix. I think I can safely say that none of my current clients have the budgets to pay for a Dolby Surround mix for the theater, but I'd like to mix Surround and deliver LtRt for the theater and AC3 surround for DVD. I still have a lot of reading to do, but have a few questions up front;

I'm on a budget, so what are the minimal requirements for a surround monitor controller. ((suggestions?)
What kind of plugins do I absolutely need (encoders, decoders, specific surround processing)
Do I need to be able to listen to the encoded/decoded signal real time, or is that a nice option

If I mix stereo, but want to make sure that the mix is "surround compatible" (no strange things happening in the surrounds when using MS-Stereo etc), how do I do that?

Thanks once again,
Peter
Old 07-10-2007, 02:33 PM

Default Re: Total newbie to surround and a lot of questions

Hi,

There's a few ways you can do this, but I use the Dolby Tools plug ins for PT.
http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...=1042&langid=1

You get an encoder and a decoder, so you can monitor what you're doing in real time, which is essential.

In terms of controlling your monitors, the cheapest method could be what a friend of mine does.