Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Old 06-24-2004, 03:37 PM

Default Total Newbie HELP, please point me the right way..

Hello all,

I have no idea where to start here.

My band recorded tracks for a project at a local studio using Protools on a MAC. However, the mastering process is being done at another studio, and we're running into compatiblity issues!

The mastering studio wants microsoft .WAV files.

The recording studio gave me an 80 GB firewire drive with contents from Protools, and I'm told they are SD2 format.

However, my computer (PC) isn't recognizing file extensions at all, much less SD2, and won't read the files in any program.

The external drive contains files and folders such as:

Desktop DB
FINDER
Desktop DF (all files)
Desktop Folder
song1
song2
song3
song4
Trash (all folders)

Within the song folders, where I'm assuming I should be finding SD2 files, are things like:

Resource.FRK (folder), which contains small files that relate to each track.
Then all the files named after the tracks, these are all 30+MB so I'm assuming it's these that I'm going to try to convert. NONE of these files show up as anything, no extensions at all, and are just called 'file'.

What can I do with this? Have I just obtained a bunch of useless data that only a mac-enabled Pro-Tools setup can read?

Once again, I need these to be converted to Microsoft .WAV, I even purchased a program, River Past Audio Convertor, to do just this. No matter what I do with the 30+ meg track files, even renaming them with the .SD2 extension, the convertor program will NOT read the data.