Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-30-2016, 07:29 AM

Default opinions of the Macbook pro for recording

ok, I'm about to pull the trigger on a MacBook pro to become my recording tool of choice. I am just a home recording guy, I have 35 years of recording experience at home and in state of the art studios , so I know what sounds good and run a lot of plugins. Allmost all in the box. I currently am using pc with 8gig ram 3.0ghz processor windows 8.1 pro tools 12.something :) I do a lot of traveling and sometimes settle for weeks at a time in different places , and have a lot of time to continue song writing and recording away from my home studio. I am looking at the 15" MacBook pro with maximum everything. I welcome all suggestions and opinions. thank you.
Old 06-30-2016, 07:57 AM

Default Re: opinions of the Macbook pro for recording

here: MBP i7 from 2015, 16 GB Ram, 1TB SSD
Recording 16 Tracks without any problems on the internal disc
mixing sessions with 60 Tacks (and more) with lots of plug ins on the internal disc without problems.
OSX el cap, PT 12.5.1
runs smooth as silk
Old 06-30-2016, 08:05 AM

I would hold off and wait and see what next MacBook Pro Apple releases, the current MacBook Pro is long in the tooth and Apple is taking forever to ship Thunderbolt 3 technology. Lots or rumors out there about this upcoming MBP. I expect Thunderbolt 3 to open up some more interesting storage products, Thunderbolt 2 is embarassingly slow compared to current low-cost PCIe/NVMe SSDs. I would also hope for 32GB DRAM configs.

If you absolutely have to get something now max out the internal PCIe SSD drive, which it sounds like you were planning to do.
Old 06-30-2016, 08:09 AM