Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-25-2002, 03:18 PM
Mr_Seven Mr_Seven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 1,588
Default Re: How many here using Dual Video Monitors ???

I switched back to one 19" monitor. After programming the MS mouse to switch edit/mix windows with one click I don't need two displays. Also it was affecting the sound of my nearfields with relections.
__________________
Darren Valen
Cyberdream Studios
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-25-2002, 03:35 PM
who who is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: joesville, Montana, USA
Posts: 751
Default Re: How many here using Dual Video Monitors ???

I too am running dual LCDs on a G550. It really annoys me having to resize and place trhe windows.

Unfortunately, parity between the two platforms still does not exist.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-25-2002, 03:47 PM
Mike Glenn Mike Glenn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 186
Default Re: How many here using Dual Video Monitors ???

Tim
I am interested in how you are getting this behavior in Windows. As you can see everyone else has the same problem with saving the placement. Which dual card are you using? There must be a special setting for lcd screens as was mentioned by ultraslide or maybe a windows setting?
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-25-2002, 04:17 PM
gerax gerax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Modena, Italy
Posts: 1,615
Default Re: How many here using Dual Video Monitors ???

I have a Matrox G 450 Dual Head with 2 17" monitors and I always work with dual head mode: once you try it there's no going back. Yes, you have to resize the windows each time you open a new session, but it's a minor hassle compared to the benefits from the dual screen setup. I set my mix window on the left and edit on the right (opposed to the common use), so that when I call up a plug in or a send it appears in the left monitor, just over my mixer window, the other way around will have it open on the edit window, but this is just a matter of preference.

Anyway, dual monitor setup it's a definitive winner, and the support should be fixed in a future release (I was hoping to get it on the 5.3.1 but [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img] ).

Cheers

L.G.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-25-2002, 04:31 PM
staylor staylor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 204
Default Re: How many here using Dual Video Monitors ???

I've used the Dual Monitor setup from the very beginning (G450, 2- 17" trinitrons) . I can't imagine working without the dual monitors. I switch between mix and edit so much I couldn't get used to a single screen. Too much switching for me. Its worth re-sizing each time!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-25-2002, 05:34 PM
WorldOfWiz WorldOfWiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: San Diego
Posts: 938
Default Re: How many here using Dual Video Monitors ???

my next pro tools set up will have tri-monitors. mix window, edit window, and plug ins.

Wiz
__________________
The underground is as fickle and shallow as the mainstream.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-25-2002, 10:06 PM
timtraynor timtraynor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Bishop,CA, USA
Posts: 144
Default Re: How many here using Dual Video Monitors ???

Yo,
Since last posting I went back and opened several
sessions and they all behave the same: I don't have to resize. Maybe it is a dual LCD thing
or the way my tech set up Windows. Who knows?!
Rock On!
Tim Traynor
Backstage Recording
Bishop, CA
__________________
Rock On!
www.backstagegear.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-25-2002, 10:13 PM
Mike Glenn Mike Glenn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 186
Default Re: How many here using Dual Video Monitors ???

Tim
Please ask your tech what he did.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-25-2002, 11:01 PM
who who is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: joesville, Montana, USA
Posts: 751
Default Re: How many here using Dual Video Monitors ???

Yeah Tim, Please ask your tech. Just to clarify, when you launch Pro Tools and open a new session, the edit window opens on one LCD and the mix window opens on the other? It doesn't all show up on just one monitor?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-25-2002, 11:49 PM
Okion Okion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: SF CA USA
Posts: 650
Default Re: How many here using Dual Video Monitors ???

Its the Maxtor (actualy I think you mean Matrox ) G450 dual AGP card and the fact that you can make it a continus desktop instead of 2 desktops.

Windows sees the card as one monitor and so all the settings in ptle are saved as the location on that one monitor.

If you have 2 cards (as I do) then when ptle opens up a session it puts the windows as close as they can be to where they were, but still be visable on the one monitor.

That's my story anyway, and I am sticking to it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual video Monitors MediaMaster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 04-06-2004 01:20 PM
Want DUAL VIDEO MONITORS, here is a cheap way... Swaphappy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 23 02-13-2004 12:47 PM
Dual Monitors (Video) Polyph 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 10-29-2003 03:02 PM
dual video monitors tamara 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-29-2003 12:12 AM
DUAL VIDEO MONITORS mancave General Discussion 4 08-05-2001 10:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com