Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-13-2012, 12:47 PM
fosto fosto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Default Re: Mix won't power on

hi fellow artist users!
My mc control died a few minutes ago.
Some sort of short crackle inside the unit, noticed some smoke near to the dc power connector. Unplugged it immediately.... since then not powering up anymore. Power supply unit seems to be fine, light is working.

I found a link to submit a case (user who bought before April 2012) and described the above.

Hope they will soon tell me how to deal with it.
can someone please tell me where to find these Support telephone numbers.
Avid assisted support telephone number: +1 650 731-6100

i´m based in germany, is it the same number.

Thanks
Jonathan
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-13-2012, 04:17 PM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: Mix won't power on

It's been awhile since I did it, but you should look for german number and the last time I did it, someone picked up a telephone in Irland and it's likely they will speak german...

Go in under www.avid.com and log in to where you registered your unit.
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-15-2012, 09:43 AM
fosto fosto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Default Re: Mix won't power on

thanks GW,
received an email from avid saying they will soon contact me.
will give them a day or two before trying to connect by phone.
Anyway thanks for your answer.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-15-2012, 07:35 PM
application4 application4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 29
Default Re: Mix won't power on

Yes, I've got the same thing...
It's the second time it's happened in 3 months. I think there could be some QC issues with the power in the unit. (The external supply is still working, and was the last time the unit failed.)
My dealer swapped out the unit with very little delay - let's hope it's the same this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-01-2012, 08:11 AM
jjsoundoc jjsoundoc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 117
Default Re: Mix won't power on

Hoping to make the current power supply last, especially now that the unit's almost out of warranty.
Does it make sense to keep Mix unplugged when not using it?
JJ
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-02-2012, 04:59 AM
Raines Raines is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Paris
Posts: 8
Default Re: Mix won't power on

I had the same problem a few weeks ago, the artist mix wouldn't start.
I sent it back to my dealer and got a new one 2 weeks after. No more infos.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-04-2012, 11:18 AM
fosto fosto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 7
Default Re: Mix won't power on

received my mc control back from repair. PWS Electronics serviced the unit.
They measured and repaired the internal power supply. Service was quick and easy. Althought it wasn`t cheap... 105 euros.


@jjsoundoc
your suggested workaround did not work in my case, i always unplugged the psu when not using it.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-03-2013, 03:19 AM
albanfurtuna's Avatar
albanfurtuna albanfurtuna is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rr.Halit Bega Nr 30 Tirana Albania
Posts: 8
Default Re: Mix won't power on

Hi.
I wanted to tell someone you do with it is possible to mix artist or artist control power up automatically?

Excuse me for my bad english
__________________
AF
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-04-2013, 12:37 PM
robotca robotca is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Default Re: Mix won't power on

So I've bought the Artist Mix since May last year and the problem of not power on happens on & on & we've been changing a new one for 3 times already! IT IS RIDICULOUS AVID!!! so after the 1-year-warranty, what's next? I have to pay to repair for the obvious not-my-fault problem?

Please let us, the artist mix users know is there improvement of your product?
__________________
Mac OSX 10.6.8
3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3

PT 10.1
500 GB 2.5" external hardrive (usb)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-04-2013, 12:51 PM
jjnssn jjnssn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 529
Default Re: Mix won't power on

Quote:
Originally Posted by robotca View Post
So I've bought the Artist Mix since May last year and the problem of not power on happens on & on & we've been changing a new one for 3 times already! IT IS RIDICULOUS AVID!!! so after the 1-year-warranty, what's next? I have to pay to repair for the obvious not-my-fault problem?

Please let us, the artist mix users know is there improvement of your product?
I am on my third mix. I asked the same question... "what is different".... sounds like nothing...They have been good about fixing them and turning them around...yet when my warranty runs out....the only protection is a "LEMON LAW"....I believe these laws are state governed.....

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
__________________
____________________________________________

W10 Pro / X99 / E5-1650v3 / 64GB ECC / nVidia P1000 / ASUS TB3 AIC
PT HDX1 / OMNI / HD IO 16x16 / 11R / Kontakt Kontrol S49 / Artist Transport and Mix / UAD OCTO Satellite, Apollo Twin MKII &, x8P Thunderbolt

[Late 2013 10.14 MacBook Pro]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would this UPS (Uninterrupted Power Supply) protect and power my gear? D_Japan macOS 4 07-24-2011 05:23 PM
002R Faults + power harness + no phantom power DaveSB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-26-2009 02:10 AM
Correct Order to Power Up & Power Down Digi 002 Rack? bilco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 02-12-2008 07:57 AM
Mbox 2 power consumption? How much of a power load is this spaids 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-30-2007 07:27 AM
002 rack power harness power suplly issue rockstah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-07-2004 12:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com