Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2011, 06:25 PM
northstar northstar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 15
Default Interlude in a song

Hi all, this is probably obvious but I can't for the life of me figure out how to do it simply and I have searched in all my books and on the internet.

Say for the sake of argument there's two halves to the song which follow the tempo (conductor mode), and an interlude in between the two halves with various sounds. I want to keep the length of the interlude constant, and keep the beginning of the second half at the same place as it is now; this beginning does not happen to fall on the beginning of a bar. I would like this second half to be aligned to the tempo without moving it in time. Is there a simple way to do this?

In effect it would be like putting a gap in the tempo timeline.


Thanks for any help you can give...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-24-2011, 09:31 PM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,629
Default Re: Interlude in a song

You can't have gaps, but you can change the tempo by trial and error until it works out. It's logically impossible to have the tempo end up in a different place without changing - as Fred Astaire sang, "Somethin's gotta give, somethin's gotta give, somethin's gotta give."

Let's call the "first half" A, the interlude B, and the "second half" C. That way you don't have the confusing situation of a song with three halves.

First, all tracks that have material in C must be sample-based. If any are tick-based, their material will move when you enter a tempo change. Have Bars and Beats as the main ruler. Decide where in A or B to place the tempo change and how long it will stay at the new tempo. Take your best guess at what the tempo change needs to be to make a bar line up with the head of C. Check to see how close you are, and adjust accordingly. Etc. It can help to place an Absolute marker at the tempo change and another at the head of C so you can zoom in close and pop back and forth quickly as you narrow in on it. It's possible to figure these things out by doing the math, but honestly, it's usually quicker to just guess and refine.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.10 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.10 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Babylon - My first 11R song (and first 100% solo song I've ever done) Variable Eleven Rack 9 09-12-2011 09:14 PM
How to copy one song out of a multi song session? Kevin Mowry 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-14-2007 12:36 PM
Why Is a 4 Minute song Bouncing as a 6 Minute Song rockwithrespect 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-31-2004 03:37 PM
What do you think of my song? Rayman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-05-2003 01:30 AM
ok.,,, my song is 5:25...but, I want the same song to be 5:15 -- how do I condense? MidiMidiBangBang 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 09-03-2001 01:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com