Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2009, 10:47 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,672
Exclamation The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2009, 04:53 AM
KrazieKraze KrazieKraze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 28
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

"It crashed because the 1394 driver was not compatible with 003 driver during install, after I changed it to Legacy , all was well."

What do you mean by changed it to Legacy? And was this on 64 bit Win 7?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2009, 05:34 AM
jazzmandan jazzmandan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago Il, USA
Posts: 321
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

Great thread, keep it comin and be sure to clarify 32 or 64 bit.

My Vista 64 bit has been been less than delightful. While PT 8.0.1 gets up and goes, there have been problems with Plugins (GR4 and Melodyne) which I have not been able to solve. So like many Win7 maybe our next option.
__________________
~2004 - Dell 4600 P4 3.0GHz, 2.0 GB Ram, XP Home SP3, 80GB HD for System, 120GB HD for Audio BIAB 2009, Pro Tools 8.0, MBox
09/12/2009 - Dell XPS 435T/9000 i7, 6G Ram, Vista 64 Bit 750 G SATA for System, 1TB SATA for Audio, Protools 8.0.1, MBox
10/31/2009 - Win 7 64Bit
MBox /PT not supported under Win7 - I didn't leave PT, PT left me!
11/30/2009 - MBox, REAPER



http://www.jazzmandan.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2009, 06:20 AM
marmotman's Avatar
marmotman marmotman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worthing, UK
Posts: 116
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

Installing Win7 on a mate's system this afternoon to see how it handles PTLE 8.0.1 and the plugs - 4GB - best to go with 64bit then I assume?
__________________
Drink up, dreamers... you're running dry
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2009, 06:29 AM
marmotman's Avatar
marmotman marmotman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Worthing, UK
Posts: 116
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

And how to I create a dual boot system to keep it in the two modes (1 for audio, 1 for t'interweb, photoshop etc etc)?

I've looked all over for an instruction for this but can Win 7 just "do it" as an option during install or is there some other software or program I need to do this?

CHAAAARS!
__________________
Drink up, dreamers... you're running dry
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-29-2009, 06:40 AM
fredto1 fredto1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Long Beach
Posts: 1
Question Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

So I just upgraded my OS from Windows Vista Home Premium to Windows 7 Home Premium and I also am using Pro Tools LE 7.4cs10 with my Mbox Mini. Upgrade went well and all of my programs are working great except for PT. I've been looking around but not finding anything on my issue.

ISSUE: I've clicked and right clicked "run as admin" but the same thing happens, it does something for a while and then PT never actually opens. I've pulled up the "Task Manager" and under the "Processes" TAB, it shows PT running but under the "Applications" TAB there is no sign of it.
When I keep opening it from the icon on the desktop or from the icon in the "Program Folder", a new protools.exe pulls up under the Processes TAB, Ive hit the icon 5 times and there are 5 protools.exe in the Processes TAB.

I am pulling my hair out here....is there anyone with the same issue or some answers to this??
Please Help!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-29-2009, 08:19 AM
flautista's Avatar
flautista flautista is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chile
Posts: 1,609
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

I working now in WIN 7 Protools 8.0.1
whith all stuff included and waves diamond 5.2 and L3 no problems
I installed in HP NW9440 laptop
DIGI 003 y MBOX2 PRO both devices works fine
Legacy Firewire driver
Onlything i had to trick waves install.
IE 8 is not a problem for me.
__________________
Jascha Koneffke flutist
www.prodmusica.cl
GA-X58A-UD3R[/
I7 950
RAM 24Gb corsair 1600 (3 sticks)
9-9-9-24
MAC
MacBookPro i7 2,3 15"
RAM 16gb
PT 11.3
003 Rack
MBox 3 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-29-2009, 12:35 PM
Naga Naga is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 39
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by flautista View Post
I working now in WIN 7 Protools 8.0.1
whith all stuff included and waves diamond 5.2 and L3 no problems
I installed in HP NW9440 laptop
DIGI 003 y MBOX2 PRO both devices works fine
Legacy Firewire driver
Onlything i had to trick waves install.
IE 8 is not a problem for me.

Where are you guys getting this legacy firewire driver? I'm on Win 7 Ultimate 64bit and while pro tools will start no sound is coming out.

I'm think somewhere I heard that it doesn't like the firewire on the 003, so how are you guys getting around that?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-29-2009, 06:15 PM
paulrgmusic paulrgmusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Posts: 251
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

Hi all

I just thought I'd let you know how my Windows 7 / Pro Tools experiment is going.

I have Win 7 64 installed and love it. I have just finished installing PT8cs3 and (I hope I don't regret saying this!!!) it seems to be working absolutely beautifully. Quick, smooth and the system usage results are significantly lower than before on my old XP partition.

Please note that I have not installed any of the non-standard plugins yet but xpand2, DB33, Boom, Vacuum and Mini Grand seem to be playing the game so far.

I'll update if and when I get Structure LE, Transfuser, Ozone 4, RealStrat, Miroslav Philharmonik, Strike, EZ Drummer, Hybrid, M-Tron Pro, Pod Farm and Melodyne installed successfully.

If this all works I will be a very happy man!

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-29-2009, 06:43 PM
jazzmandan jazzmandan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago Il, USA
Posts: 321
Default Re: The Official Unofficial Windows 7 Thread

You go Paul, keep us updated.

Also please consider adding a little info on your rig in your signature so we have an idea of your setup.
__________________
~2004 - Dell 4600 P4 3.0GHz, 2.0 GB Ram, XP Home SP3, 80GB HD for System, 120GB HD for Audio BIAB 2009, Pro Tools 8.0, MBox
09/12/2009 - Dell XPS 435T/9000 i7, 6G Ram, Vista 64 Bit 750 G SATA for System, 1TB SATA for Audio, Protools 8.0.1, MBox
10/31/2009 - Win 7 64Bit
MBox /PT not supported under Win7 - I didn't leave PT, PT left me!
11/30/2009 - MBox, REAPER



http://www.jazzmandan.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
THE UNOFFICIAL "DAVE C" TEST RESULT THREAD scuzzytim 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 79 07-14-2010 09:21 PM
The unofficial PTLE bottom-feeder thread! M.Brane 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 07-18-2006 07:07 PM
unofficial "Problems with PT7" thread nikki-k Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 68 05-02-2006 02:00 PM
---unofficial BTD report only thread--- nikki-k 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 59 12-02-2003 05:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com