Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2005, 12:14 AM
Digi ETS Digi ETS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 90
Default Problems with PTLE? Post your configuration here..

Hi everyone,
If you have or are experiencing a problem getting your Windows system up and running with Pro Tools LE and Mbox or 002, we want to know about it...in detail. Please add your configuration details to this thread. We can use this information to help determine the root cause of your problems and get you answers.

In the best of all worlds, you would download SiSoftware's Sandra Lite application, run the System Summary module, then copy the results to the clipboard and paste them in your response thread. If you are willing to do this, it will help to expedite the process of determining the root cause of your problems.

You can download SiSandra Lite from on of the links on this page:
http://www.sisoftware.net/index.html...64&langx=en&a=

Thanks again for your patience...
-rj

Digi ETS
  #2  
Old 03-04-2005, 02:30 AM
Finnish Finnish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 116
Default Re: Problems with PTLE? Post your configuration he

Processor
Model : Mobile AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 2800+
Speed : 1.60GHz
Model Number : 2800 (estimated)
Performance Rating : PR2402 (estimated)
Type : Low Power
L2 On-board Cache : 256kB ECC Synchronous, Write-Back, 16-way set, 64 byte line size

Mainboard
Bus(es) : ISA AGP PCI IMB CardBus USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
MP Support : 1 CPU(s)
MP APIC : Yes
System BIOS : AT/AT COMPATIBLE
Total Memory : 1.9GB DDR-SDRAM

Chipset 1
Model : Acer Inc K8M400 CPU to PCI Bridge
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 800MHz (1600MHz data rate)
Shared Memory : 1MB

Chipset 2
Model : Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) Athlon 64 / Opteron HyperTransport Technology Configuration
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 800MHz (1600MHz data rate)
Total Memory : 2GB DDR-SDRAM
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 160MHz (320MHz data rate)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Default Monitor
Monitor/Panel : Digital Flat Panel (1024x768)
Monitor/Panel : Generic Television
Adapter : VIA/S3G UniChrome Pro IGP

Physical Storage Devices
Hard Disk : HTS424040M9AT00 (37GB)
Hard Disk : LaCie Group SA LaCie d2 Extreme LUN 0 IEEE 1394 SBP2 Device
CD-ROM/DVD : MAT****A UJDA760 DVD/CDRW (CD 24X Rd, 24X Wr) (DVD 3X Rd)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 19GB (16GB, 85% Free Space) (NTFS)
Kakkonen (D:) : 19GB (19GB, 100% Free Space) (NTFS)
CD-ROM/DVD (E:) : N/A
Lacie (F:) : 234GB (233GB, 100% Free Space) (NTFS)

Peripherals
USB Controller/Hub : VIA Rev 5 or later USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : VIA Rev 5 or later USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : VIA Rev 5 or later USB Universal Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : VIA USB 2.0 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : Unknown Device
USB Controller/Hub : Generic USB Hub
FireWire/1394 Controller/Hub : Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
PCMCIA/CardBus Controller : Generic CardBus Controller
PCMCIA/CardBus Controller : Generic CardBus Controller
Keyboard : Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse : PS/2 Compatible Mouse
Mouse : HID-compliant mouse
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device

Power Management
AC Line Status : On-Line
Battery No 1 : 98%

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Professional (Win32 x86) 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 1)

Network Services
Network Drivers Enabled : No




There you go. By the way, I tried DaveC-test: 24+8 And I got it with 512-samplerate, and in 16bit and 24bit-mode. But I could only record about 1:15 minutes and then came the error. But still, I could play the MBox-demosong for about 2:30 minutes until the legendary buffer-error came: Conflicting with other CPU-tasks... And I disabled D-Verb, I read somewhere that it might cost troubles. Also, MBox was connected to an active USB-hub, there was no difference compared without. Ok, I hope that engineers will find something.

I sayed earlier "Thats it!!! I quit", but the active USB-hub gave me new hope. In vain.
__________________
HP Pavilion dv5-1035eo
AMD Turion X2, 2,0ghz, 4gig ram
250gb LaCie
MBox,PTLE7, REAPER, FW1814
  #3  
Old 03-04-2005, 09:57 AM
Ducky Ducky is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 929
Default Re: Problems with PTLE? Post your configuration here..

I'll give you a simple one and see how it goes:

This was my reason for upgrading to a Digi OO2 and a Digi qualified MusicXPC.
It may seem trivial, but in musical style it was critical for efficiency.

First machine was a homebuilt ASUS P4 2.4 w/512 RDIMM with Digi OO1:
V6.x (any) PTLE... Windows XP Home SP1

Problem:
"Show Strip Silence"
Fine Adjust (Ctrl~Slider, I think)
Does not function, 19 MS is the least that can be set.
Behaviour:
Fine adjust seems to be functioning but when you let go of the mouse button, it jumps to the normal setting where the mouse button was let go. It doesn't matter how you use the Ctrl key or the sequence of the mouse button. It simply will not work. The GUI is also messed up sometimes writing a red rectangle on the applet, other times the numbers are not legible.

Second machine was a MusicXPC 2.8 bone stock with modem removed and onboard sound card disabled.
PTLE 6.4 CS6&9 Windows XP SP1 Digi OO2 with Factory Bundle
Problem:
"Show Strip Silence"
[Exactly the same as the above machine]

Reference:
First machine above (DigiOO1) v5.3.1 PTLE, this function worked flawlessly. I would set "Show Strip Silence" to 10ms at -35db. Then drop in all the fades. On a good take, that is all I would have to do. Now, my productivity has been shot.

If nothing else, I'd like to see this fixed for version 7 of PTLE. It should be an easy one to trace and validate. If this functions on your MusicXPC which you have qualified, I will provide more specs.
  #4  
Old 03-04-2005, 12:25 PM
Digi ETS Digi ETS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 90
Default Re: Problems with PTLE? Post your configuration he

Hi Finnish,
Thanks for taking the time to do this. Would you be willing to send us a session file (no audio) so we can see how you are using LE? If so, please send it to digibeta@digidesign.com.

Thanks.
-rj

Digi ETS
  #5  
Old 03-04-2005, 01:06 PM
AchimHamburg AchimHamburg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hamburg / Germany
Posts: 139
Default Re: Problems with PTLE? Post your configuration he

Hi, I'd be glad if you could help me.

I run PT LE 6.4cs9 with MBox on an Acer Travelmate 251LM_DT notebook.

I get errors 9092, 9093 and 9129.

More detailed:

Recording or playing back one stereo track with H/W buffer set to 1024 error 9129 pops up after 1 or to 5 minutes, every 3 or 4 times not before 5 minutes. With H/W buffer set to 128 errors 9092 and 9093 pop up between 1 and 2 minutes.

Recording a track in or playing back a more complex session (12 audio tracks, 4 busses, 10 MIDI tracks, 6 compressors, 4 eq's, 1 DVerb, Reason, Sample Tank, 3 delays: with H/W buffer set to 1024 error 9129 pops up between minue 1 and 3, with H/W buffer set to 128 errors 9092 and 9093 pop up between 1 sec and 1 minute.

Network and soundcard are disbled, no programs (like antivirus, firewall or stuff) are running in background, DMA mode on IDE devices is enabled, my bios doesn't show any option to disable hyperthreading, so I guess my laptop doesn't support hyperthreading. Session and audio files are on a dedicated USB 2 drive (7200 rpm), the digidesign folder is on the system drive.

Here my system details:

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.50GHz
Speed : 2.50GHz
Performance Rating : PR2748 (estimated)
Type : Standard
L2 On-board Cache : 512kB ECC Synchronous, ATC, 8-way set, 64 byte line size, 2 lines per sector

Mainboard
Bus(es) : ISA PCI CardBus USB i2c/SMBus
MP Support : 1 CPU(s)
MP APIC : No
System BIOS : AT/AT COMPATIBLE
Total Memory : 495MB DDR-SDRAM

Chipset 1
Model : Intel Corporation 82852GM/GME/GMV/PM, 855GM/GME Montara Host-Hub Interface Bridge (A2-step)
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 100MHz (400MHz data rate)
Total Memory : 512MB DDR-SDRAM
Shared Memory : 16MB
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 166MHz (332MHz data rate)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : (Standardmonitor)
Monitor/Panel : (Standardmonitor)
Monitor/Panel : Digital-Flachbildschirm (1024x768)
Adapter : Intel(R) 82852/82855 GM/GME Graphics Controller
Adapter : Intel(R) 82852/82855 GM/GME Graphics Controller

Physical Storage Devices
Hard Disk : IC25N030ATMR04-0 (28GB)
Hard Disk : SAMSUNG SP0802N USB Device
CD-ROM/DVD : TOSHIBA DVD-ROM SD-R6112 (CD 24X Rd, 16X Wr) (DVD 3X Rd, 2X Wr)

Logical Storage Devices
Acer (C:) : 18GB (4.9GB, 27% Free Space) (FAT32)
Acerdata (D:) : 9.8GB (9.6GB, 98% Free Space) (FAT32)
CD-ROM/DVD (E:) : N/A
Protools (G:) : 75GB (68GB, 92% Free Space) (NTFS)

Peripherals
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801DB/DBM USB Universal Host Controller - 24C2
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801DB/DBM USB Universal Host Controller - 24C4
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) 82801DB/DBM USB Universal Host Controller - 24C7
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(r) 82801DB/DBM USB 2.0 erweiterter Hostcontroller - 24CD
USB Controller/Hub : USB-Root-Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB-Root-Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB-Root-Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB-Root-Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB-Massenspeichergerät
PCMCIA/CardBus Controller : Texas Instruments PCI-1520 CardBus-Controller
PCMCIA/CardBus Controller : Texas Instruments PCI-1520 CardBus-Controller
Keyboard : Standardtastatur (101/102 Tasten) oder Microsoft Natural Keyboard (PS/2)
Mouse : Synaptics PS/2 Port Pointing Device
Mouse : HID-konforme Maus
Human Interface : USB-HID (Human Interface Device)

Communication Device(s)
Device : Agere Systems AC'97 Modem
Device : ISDN PPP Modem
Device : ISDN PPP Modem #2

Printers and Faxes
Model : hp psc 700 series
Model : hp psc 1200 series
Model : FRITZfax Color Drucker
Model : Fax
Model : Automatisch FRITZfax Color Drucker auf JF-MOBILE
Model : Automatisch Acrobat Distiller auf JF-MOBILE
Model : Acrobat Distiller

Network Printers
Model : \\SERVER\hp psc 700 series

Power Management
AC Line Status : On-Line
Battery No 1 : 100%

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Home (Win32 x86) 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)

Network Services
Network Drivers Enabled : No



I'm looking forward to your comments and thank you very much in advance.

Kind regards

Achim
__________________
HD2 Mac Pro Quadcore OS X 10.5.6 PT 8.0
  #6  
Old 03-04-2005, 01:11 PM
Finnish Finnish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 116
Default Re: Problems with PTLE? Post your configuration he

Now I'm beginning to like this support-action.

Please, be more precise what should I include in this session? Give me an example what to include ('cause I didn't understood that no-audio-thing, forgive me), so I can give the precise information that you need, I guess that this how we can minimize the posts and feedbacktime between us?
I'll be waiting your answer, my post will come immediately, when I know what to post.
__________________
HP Pavilion dv5-1035eo
AMD Turion X2, 2,0ghz, 4gig ram
250gb LaCie
MBox,PTLE7, REAPER, FW1814
  #7  
Old 03-04-2005, 02:38 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Problems with PTLE? Post your configuration he

They would like a .PTS file of a session which exhibits the behaviour you describe.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
  #8  
Old 03-04-2005, 03:18 PM
Digi ETS Digi ETS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 90
Default Re: Problems with PTLE? Post your configuration he

Exactly.
-rj

Digi ETS
  #9  
Old 03-04-2005, 03:31 PM
jonnn jonnn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Martinez, CA SF Bay Area
Posts: 158
Default Re: Problems with PTLE? Post your configuration he

My Problem is the H/W buffer errors (9129 and 9093). I can run through the demo song a couple times and then the message pops up. I have done every fix I can find in the answerbase and in the DUC, I still get the errors. These are the specs I got off the Music XPC website for my laptop. If you need anything else from me let me know. Hopefully you can come up something that will end my suffering.

Thanks in advance, jonnn

Detailed Specification

Professional M2
Intel® Pentium® 4 HT processor 3.2 GHz 512K cache
Intel 865PE + ICH5 Chipset
800MHz Front Side Bus
1GB DDR400 RAM [Expandable to 2GB]
1 PCMCIA 3.3V/5V Socket supporting CardBus

DISPLAY

17.0" WXGA TFT LCD display
ATI Mobility Radeon 9700
128-bit 2D/3D Graphics accelerator
256MB DDR SGRAM On Board
Dual-view display monitor
External Display Resolution up to 1600 x 1200
HDTV Support
STORAGE
DVD+/-RW/CD-RW 48x40x16x8
ATA100 7200rpm 60GB System Drive
ATA100 7200rpm 60GB System Drive
Supports master Mode IDE, PIO Mode 5, ATA-33/66/100/133 (Ultra DMA)
7-In-1 Card Reader

AUDIO

AC'97 support for 5.1 channel surround
3D Stereo Enhanced Sound System
Virtual 6-channel Audio Output
1 SPDIF output
1 Microphone input
4 Speakers built-in
1 Line output/Headphone output
KEYBOARD, POINTING DEVICE & BUTTONS
Full size WinKey Keyboard with Numeric Keypad
Built-in TouchPad
3 Hot Keys (Default Internet browser / Email program / application)

INTEFACE & COMMUNICATION

3 USB 2.0 ports
1 mini IEEE1394 [FireWire®] ports
1 S-Video Jack for TV Output
1 Serial port
1 Parallel Port (LPT1) Supporting ECP/EPP
1 Infrared Tranceiver (IrDA 1.1/FIR/SIR/ASKIR)
1 DVI-Out port
1 PS/2 port (mouse/keyboard)
1 Integrated V.90/I56K MCD Modem(V.92 Compliant)
1 Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1,000 Mbps LAN port
802.11g Wireless LAN
300K Pixel Video Camera Module
Bluetooth Module

POWER

Full range AC Adapter: AC-In 100~240V, 50~60Hz
DC Output 20V, 7.5A
Easy Changeable Main Battery Smart Li-Ion
Supports ACPIv1.0b
Supports Hibernate/Standby Modes
Supports battery Low Sleep
Supports Resume From Modem Ring

OTHER SPECS

Length 393mm, Depth 267mm, Height 38mm
Net weight 3.90 Kg without Battery
Operating Temperature 5°C ~ 35°C
Microsoft Windows XP® Professional
__________________
Check out my band Add Moss
i7 920, PT 9.0.3, 002R, Euphonix MC Control
Win 7 Ultimate 64
thedrumeditor.com
  #10  
Old 03-04-2005, 04:10 PM
jonnn jonnn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Martinez, CA SF Bay Area
Posts: 158
Default Re: Problems with PTLE? Post your configuration he

P.S.

After the error comes up, most of the time I can't play back at all. I have to close pro tools entirely and then re-open it in order to get working again.
__________________
Check out my band Add Moss
i7 920, PT 9.0.3, 002R, Euphonix MC Control
Win 7 Ultimate 64
thedrumeditor.com
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with PTLE? Post your configuration here...... still_life_ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-30-2007 01:27 AM
Problems with PTLE? Post your configuration here.. DJ John 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-28-2007 11:06 AM
Problems with PTLE? Post your configuration he krsongs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-28-2007 10:59 AM
Problems with PTLE? Post your configuration here.. p3tch 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-28-2007 10:46 AM
Problems with PTLE? Post your configuration here.. Gaba 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-23-2007 09:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com