Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 03-20-2017, 12:41 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Finland
Posts: 14,548
Default Re: So, latency on HD Native vs HDX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by arche3 View Post
I went from am hd6accel to an hdx2 (now an hdx3) and it was way better than the tdm system.
I have also went from HD3accel to HDN and it has been way better
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 03-20-2017, 05:34 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,144
Default Re: So, latency on HD Native vs HDX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
You have perfectly illustrated the picture of DSP systems being inferior to pure native, if native processing is to be used at all.
Nonsense! Only true if you need Native in the REC enabled channel. Every plugin in playback can be Native with zero latency hit on the REC channel if the REC track has only AAX-DSP on it. I have said this 4 ways already in this thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Hepworth View Post
The minimum buffer with HDX is twice the minimum buffer of HDN.

You would place an AAX DSP plugin after the native plugin to track with/through native.
Only the Minimum buffer is impacted on HDX (64 samples at 44.1 and 128 samples at 96kHz). If you use all Native with HDX at 44.1 64buffer it will be almost identical to HDN at 64 samples buffer in latency.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Their Intel box was inferior the day it was introduced. I have heard or nobody who has paid money to buy one of those boxes. I have only heard legends of some Waves evangelists who have had free gear.
I was originally loaned pieces but when I was no longer "working" with "beta testing and forum support" I paid for all my DiGiGrid stuff and used it for quite a while thereafter. I have since moved on for my own reasons - but that system is another alternative for folks with a list of features that many already find beneficial. FWIW - I see it more in live setups than straight recording.
__________________
nMP Hex - 3.5GHz - 512GB - 32GB 10.12.2, Blackmagic Multidock, MC Mix+Control
PT12.7 HDX HD I/O, Sonett TB Chassis, Dangerous Source, Zen Tour - Logic ProX, Studio One V3 (Incoming Orion Studio 2017)
Freeing the chains to AVID and DSP dependence
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html

Last edited by propower; 03-20-2017 at 06:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 03-20-2017, 06:38 PM
audioluche audioluche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC, Canada
Posts: 684
Default Re: So, latency on HD Native vs HDX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
I have also went from HD3accel to HDN and it has been way better
Of course it is if you have a fast computer!
I went from HD3 accel to HDX1 and HDX smoked my TDM rig, nothing to compare, not even funny!

I assume that HDN (using native plugins, of course) is way more efficient at handling AAX than TDM ever was at handling RTAS.

I keep the same computer and it was like if i tripled my native power!
But the point is, for tracking and integrated system, nothing beats HDX.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 03-20-2017, 09:42 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 486
Default Re: So, latency on HD Native vs HDX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
Nonsense! Only true if you need Native in the REC enabled channel. Every plugin in playback can be Native with zero latency hit on the REC channel if the REC track has only AAX-DSP on it. I have said this 4 ways already in this thread.
Yeah that's what I thought. I use only aax dsp plugins after native plugs on the record enabled tracks and I use native stuff like slate vcc and vtm. I don't have any latency issues on hdx at all. Cues feed from dedicated outputs on my i/o.

I can actually even have long delay compensated aax dsp plugins on a master fader and it still works. I don't think you can do that on hdn.

Always worked.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 03-21-2017, 09:28 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,248
Default Re: So, latency on HD Native vs HDX?

Quote:
Originally Posted by brianjanthony View Post
...
Sometimes, like the last week, I'm tracking 32 ins for days on end. and sometimes I'm tracking 1 or 2 in on a session sent from somewhere where there's hundreds of plugins....

I don't plan on using DSP plugs only. Quite the opposite will happen actually. I inherit a lot of sessions and most run native, esp crazy effects tracks. So my main concern is/was, in a session that in native needs a 256 buffer to run smooth, in HDX I will still need the 256 buffer. And then the record track would need a DSP trim first, then native plugin after it, and I put it into record. Will it feel like a 32 buffer in native land? I don't think so. Even if I only use a DSP compressor on the vocal track, I think I'll still have issues.

...

Brian - if you're still reading this thread (and I wouldn't blame you if you weren't), I think in your scenario, you'd find an HDX rig a much better tool. BUT, you will need to only use AAX/DSP plugs on *record* channels. As long as you do that you can have all the native plugs you want in the session (yes even high latency plugs like reverbs etc), and throughput latency will remain extremely low on the record channels (which is what we care about).

There is no magic box that will allow all the native plugs you want with near-zero throughput latency and stability at high track counts (well, something like a Digigrid or UAD interface might qualify if you only want to use their plugs).

best,
rich

Last edited by Rich Breen; 03-21-2017 at 11:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Native latency stevegalante Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 03-17-2014 11:49 PM
PT HD Native & HDX / latency? kirkbross Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 13 08-24-2013 09:48 AM
HD NATIVE vs HD TDM latency James Drake Pro Tools 10 Discussion 20 06-19-2012 04:27 PM
omni/native latency vs mbox pro latency chrisdee Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 34 03-30-2012 07:24 AM
HD Native latency CamM Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 11-30-2010 08:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com