Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2005, 09:14 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,822
Default losing sync while auditioning in the workspace

when you go to the workspace to audition files, many times i lose clock sync. it is a bit annoying.

there was some talk about this and DIGI tech support got on and told us to switch our sync to the 192 internal, quit, restart and then we could switch the sync back to our sync i/o. and then, when we went to the workspace to audition files we would not "lose sync". well... this works for while, and then i am back to losing sync with my clock. it is not BIG deal....but why? and why is the "fix" only temporary?

edit:

system - hd|2 accell; pt 6.9.1cs3; sync i/o; external wc; dual 2.5g mac; 4 gig ram; atto scsi.


signed,

wondering about the little things that make my life easier.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2005, 08:45 AM
zafricandekeiko zafricandekeiko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 15
Default Re: losing sync while auditioning in the workspace

This is also frustrating for me. Makes that feature almost unusable. I have never seen it happen on the mix stage I work at with 3 HD systems, only my personal system. It also doesn't happen all of the time. Haven't figured out what causes it yet.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-19-2005, 09:28 AM
brdst brdst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 122
Default Re: losing sync while auditioning in the workspace

Strange, I had the same problem, did the above fix, and I haven't had a problem since. Not looking forward to that problem coming up again. Did the "fix" work again, at least for a little while?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:51 PM
Soundworks UK Soundworks UK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 57
Default Re: losing sync while auditioning in the workspace

Yes, I've got this too, makes workspace unusable as we're using a digital SSL, monitoring at Dolby Film levels - we get very loud digital splats when auditioning in the workspace.

Simon.
__________________
Simon Jones
Freelance sound creative. Bristol / Cardiff, UK
Re-recording mixer specialising in TV drama.
Mac Pro 2019 7,1 OS10.15.5, Protools ultimate 2020.5, UA Apollo 8 & 16.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-22-2005, 08:03 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,822
Default Re: losing sync while auditioning in the workspace

the "fix" works for a while. i will watch more closely to see when it changes.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-23-2005, 07:45 AM
Danny Caccavo Danny Caccavo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,279
Default Re: losing sync while auditioning in the workspace

There's an answerbase item for this -

I get a spike, bang, or pop when opening a Pro Tools|HD session, or previewing from the Workspace, Fade, or Import Audio dialog. This occurs when using digital outputs on a 192 I/O, with a SYNC I/O as the clock master.

The pop is occurring when the Loop Sync Master changes from the SYNC I/O to the 192 and back again. The pop *only* happens when an HD system's digital outputs are being routed through another device's DA converters; typically, this happens when the 192 digital outputs are feeding real-time sample rate converters, such as those found on large format digital consoles.

Workaround:

- Put a BNC cable from the SYNC I/O WC out into the first 192's WC in.
- In the Session Setup window, set "clock source" to 192#1 -> Wordclock
- Go back to Session Setup window, and set "clock source" back to SYNC I/O

ID: 27736 Created: 01/27/2004

Hope this helps

Danny Caccavo
Digidesign
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-18-2006, 09:06 AM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,822
Default Re: losing sync while auditioning in the workspace

sorry danny, i did not see this

Quote:
There's an answerbase item for this -

I get a spike, bang, or pop when opening a Pro Tools|HD session, or previewing from the Workspace, Fade, or Import Audio dialog. This occurs when using digital outputs on a 192 I/O, with a SYNC I/O as the clock master.

The pop is occurring when the Loop Sync Master changes from the SYNC I/O to the 192 and back again. The pop *only* happens when an HD system's digital outputs are being routed through another device's DA converters; typically, this happens when the 192 digital outputs are feeding real-time sample rate converters, such as those found on large format digital consoles.

Workaround:

- Put a BNC cable from the SYNC I/O WC out into the first 192's WC in.
- In the Session Setup window, set "clock source" to 192#1 -> Wordclock
- Go back to Session Setup window, and set "clock source" back to SYNC I/O

ID: 27736 Created: 01/27/2004

Hope this helps

Danny Caccavo
Digidesign
however, i am not routing the digital outputs through another device's DA converters. i am not feeding real-time sample rate converters. i simply am feeding WC aand BB to the SYNC i/o from an external clock. in my session setup i am clocking to the SYNC i/o -- appropriate clocking for the type of work.

and...i tried this workaround, but the probelm comes back. but i did not notice how long it took or what were the steps in between.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-24-2006, 07:27 PM
tea4chew tea4chew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8
Default Re: losing sync while auditioning in the workspace

Hi people,

We have just upgraded from 6.4 to 7.1 and we are now experiencing exactly the same problem (never occurred on 6.4). I have tried the temp fix of changing clock source to 192 internal, save, relaunch protools, change clock back to sync I/O, but cannot clear the prob even temporarily.

It is quite a while since anyone has posted in this thread, did anyone ever find a permanent solution, or did it disappear for everyone else with upgrades?

We are actually running XP on a PC, but seems the problem is more related to peripheral hardware than the OS, and this thread seemed to be an exact description of our problem.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workspace Browser Auditioning -- did I dream that? emerson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 10-19-2007 06:52 PM
Auditioning split stereofiles in workspace? Audiofarm Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-25-2007 03:00 AM
Workspace crash when searching or auditioning hesnodgrass1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 03-18-2005 05:30 PM
loose system sync-auditioning workspace in 6.4! mnet101 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-16-2005 03:50 PM
pro tools 6 not auditioning in workspace chagos 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-07-2004 01:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com