Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-04-2009, 03:16 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: PC Build.. Will this work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eless View Post
is there an L2 Cache number i should be looking for? Like a "recommended minimum?" what exactly are the benefits of it in PT terms? (again, i'm new to building.. please be kind. haha)
PT in general loves cache. Core2's HUGE caches are part of the reason for its great performance. More is better. But PT run well on multi core so if you cant afford a Q9550 with 12MB then look for the next fastest quadcore you can squeeze into the budget.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-04-2009, 07:43 PM
Eless Eless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brewer, ME USA
Posts: 141
Default Re: PC Build.. Will this work?

after weighing all the options, it looks like i'm going with the Q6600! Thank you everyone for all the help!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-04-2009, 08:30 PM
pianosound pianosound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Turlock, Central CA
Posts: 911
Default Re: PC Build.. Will this work?

+1 on the Q6600, many PT users have had or still using it,,, Great CPU for PT's!!
__________________
Intel Core i7 4790K 4.0GHz | Asus Z97-Pro LGA 1150 Intel 6Gb | Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB DDR3 2400 | Asus GT640 Silent 2 GB GDDR3 | Samsung 850 Pro SSD's, WD Caviar Black HDD's | PSU Corsair 750W ATX12V | Windows 10 | Presonus Studio One | 003R PT's 12.8 | Waves Platinum | Ivory/Piano | Berlin Woodwinds, Nocturne Solo Violin | SPITFIRE Solo Strings | EastWest Hollywood Strings, Brass, Pro Drummer, and Stormdrum 2 | VSL | Vienna Ensemble Pro | M-Audio Code 61, FaderPort 8 |
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-05-2009, 06:35 PM
Eless Eless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brewer, ME USA
Posts: 141
Default Re: PC Build.. Will this work?

Ok, so this is what I've come up with so far, it's all sitting in my shopping cart, but I didn't want to go ahead and place the order until I got it approved by you guys... So what do you think? Any changes that you find necessary? Or maybe not necessary, but that I would want? I value your opinions heavily, so your advice will not go unrecognized..

Motherboard: ASUS P5Q Pro LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor Model
RAM: CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X4096-6400C5 - Retail
System Drive: Western Digital Caviar SE WD800AAJS 80GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive - OEM
Audio Drive: Western Digital Caviar SE WD2500AAJS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive - OEM
USB: IOGEAR PCI to 5 Ports USB2.0 Card Model GIC251U - Retail
Firewire: SIIG 3-port 1394 (FireWire) I/O card Model NN-300012-S6 - Retail

(all just copy and pasted, sorry if a lot is unnecessary...)

Cory
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-06-2009, 06:53 AM
Eless Eless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brewer, ME USA
Posts: 141
Default Re: PC Build.. Will this work?

bump.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-08-2009, 06:21 AM
Eless Eless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brewer, ME USA
Posts: 141
Default Re: PC Build.. Will this work?

...one last bump...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would this build and W8 work for PT10? Kirby B. Windows 7 03-04-2013 05:31 AM
PT just does not work, so should I build a new PC build or just but a MAC? ajcsound Windows 17 05-17-2011 11:22 PM
Think this build will work? jmitchell1532 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 33 12-28-2009 06:36 AM
Will this build work with 6.4? mcintyw2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 06-11-2009 11:16 AM
Anyone get Pro-Tools 8 To Work Without Issue On A P5K Quad Build? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 01-11-2009 06:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com