Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2019, 08:26 AM
J_Harry J_Harry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 32
Default 2019.6 And The Disappearing Plugin Window?

Noticed with 2019.5 as well, but thought I would give 2019.6 a kick and see if is resolved...

Seems to be consistent with (most) 3rd party plugins, and nothing Avid stock. Open plugin, push play on track, make some tweaks, then hit bypass (more than 2 times in a row) and the plugin window closes (this is a targeted plugin - so red light in top right is on).

This has happened across a couple manufacturers, which makes me think a PT issue?

Anyone else noticing this?

A few brands I've noticed with:
Sonible
Plugin Alliance
Kush Audio
Fab Filter
McDSP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2019, 09:03 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,915
Default Re: 2019.6 And The Disappearing Plugin Window?

No such problems here on Plugin Alliance, McDSP or KUSH which I tried now.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2019, 09:13 AM
J_Harry J_Harry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 32
Default Re: 2019.6 And The Disappearing Plugin Window?

Thanks for testing on your end.

I have just tried it with some more plugins on my system, and looks like some of the stock Avid ones will do it as well. Namely Channel Strip, Trim, and Dyn3. Also am getting this behaviour without playback.

Session is just a basic 12 tracks of audio, and I use it for trying out features. No other plugins on when open.

Could be my computer, but this is very specific to re-create, and I can do it without fail pretty much...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2019, 09:52 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,090
Default Re: 2019.6 And The Disappearing Plugin Window?

Are you using Eucon ?
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2019, 10:50 AM
J_Harry J_Harry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 32
Default Re: 2019.6 And The Disappearing Plugin Window?

I have eucon on the system for use with Artist Mix and Control App, but neither are connected.

Eucon App is running in background though...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-2019, 11:28 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,090
Default Re: 2019.6 And The Disappearing Plugin Window?

You are seeing the behavior of a Eucon setting in Eucontrol. On the general tab.

In ProTools turn off Eucon in peripherals is one solution.
Or, if using Eucon, learn what the options are in Eucontrol on the general tab to configure it the way you want it to react.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-11-2019, 07:17 AM
J_Harry J_Harry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 32
Default Re: 2019.6 And The Disappearing Plugin Window?

Thank you BScout! This indeed was the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-16-2019, 03:09 AM
richardbutler richardbutler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Falmouth, England
Posts: 9
Default Re: 2019.6 And The Disappearing Plugin Window?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
You are seeing the behavior of a Eucon setting in Eucontrol. On the general tab.

In ProTools turn off Eucon in peripherals is one solution.
Or, if using Eucon, learn what the options are in Eucontrol on the general tab to configure it the way you want it to react.
THANK YOU!!! This has been bugging me since I installed 2019.6 into our audio suites. I've been meaning to post about it, but was beaten to it.

The symptoms for me were thus; Open an insert plug-in window on one track, click wherever you want to create an edit selection of shuttle / move around on that track, adjust plug-in, no problem. But, when you click or make an edit selection on any other track the plug-in window closes automatically, unless you un-target the plug-in plug in window.

I am using Eucon and need to. In order to fix the issue of the disappearing plug-in, I opened EuControl Settings, went to the General tab and toggled the settings until I found the culprit. In the "Attention Most Recently Clicked DAW Area" box on the left hand side, un-check the "Edit Window" check box. That fixed it for me.

It seems that with that check box active, the edit window becomes the Target window, so a targeted plug-in window get's dismissed.

Personally, I think this is either bug as I've never witnessed it before and have been using Eucon and Pro Tools for years and haven't had to change this setting. Or, perhaps, it's a new feature in Eucon to have the Edit Window checkbox. Something I've not had to alter in the past. Time to go and read through the release notes for Eucon 19!!!

I hope the info in this thread helps others.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-16-2019, 03:15 AM
richardbutler richardbutler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Falmouth, England
Posts: 9
Default Re: 2019.6 And The Disappearing Plugin Window?

Also, as a side note, it wasn't plug-in brand specific for me, happens with them all, Avid, Izotope, Oxford, etc
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-16-2019, 03:30 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,090
Default Re: 2019.6 And The Disappearing Plugin Window?

Quote:
Originally Posted by richardbutler View Post
Personally, I think this is either bug as I've never witnessed it before and have been using Eucon and Pro Tools for years and haven't had to change this setting. Or, perhaps, it's a new feature in Eucon to have the Edit Window checkbox. Something I've not had to alter in the past. Time to go and read through the release notes for Eucon 19!!!
Not a bug.
Mentioned specifically in the release notes of Eucontrol 2019.5 as a new feature. Didn't exist before (which is why there is a "legacy" option on the left column to switch it to how it was before for attentioning)

(yes, this is a global item and not plugin-brand specific)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019.5 MIDI events randomly disappearing when copying regions XJENSEN Pro Tools 2019 5 05-11-2019 06:09 PM
Disappearing tracks in edit window waswillbe Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-01-2011 11:05 AM
Disappearing Tracks in Edit Window only dergutetonffm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 01-16-2011 07:45 AM
Is It Possible To Keep The Midi Event Window From Disappearing? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-30-2009 04:38 AM
Disappearing edit and mix window 6.1 mostlypost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-01-2003 12:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com