Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2012, 11:14 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,081
Default 10.2 is out.....

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=322895

Cheers
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-22-2012, 07:50 PM
cananball cananball is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 338
Default Re: 10.2 is out.....

sounds like it reduces revibe 2 cpu overhead..or maybe just dsp overhead. Hope its former (or both)
__________________
Ken Wilkinson
http://kenwilkinson.tv

Pro Tools 10.3.9 HDN | HD Omni | Digi Command 8 | Artist Transport | Digi Surround Panner | Blackmagic Intensity Pro | JBL LSR4328 5.1
2.26GHz 8 Core Nehelam 8GB Ram OSX 10.8.5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-22-2012, 09:43 PM
JR Fountain JR Fountain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 338
Default Re: 10.2 is out.....

Ya that's what I'm wondering about too. I've really wanted to get Revibe since it became available as AAX Native but have held off because of the initially poor reviews of cpu usage. If anybody can report on how nimble it is or isn't that'd be great.

JR
__________________
J.R. Fountain
credits: www.imdb.com/name/nm0288354/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2012, 10:21 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,962
Default Re: 10.2 is out.....

I get two per chip in HDX, and in Native AAX they are shockingly light on resources. Get a demo.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2012, 12:31 AM
cjguitar cjguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Sunland, CA
Posts: 561
Default Re: 10.2 is out.....

Unfortunately, my experience is that it's not improved on the native side of things. I can only get like 6-7 instances before any of my computers freak out. On HDX it's great at 2x per chip.
__________________
Chris M. Jacobson, CAS
Re-recording Mixer, Sound Designer
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2012, 10:43 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,962
Default Re: 10.2 is out.....

One instance of Revibe native is about a 5% hit on the CPU for me. The “per instance hit" does seem to grow some if I bring in multiples. Still, I suggest a demo before buying.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-23-2012, 01:04 PM
JR Fountain JR Fountain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 338
Default Re: 10.2 is out.....

Thanks for the suggestion Tom, didn't realize they had a demo. Tried it out this morning and the first instance was close to a 10% hit and each additional instance was about 1%. Pretty good I thought.

JR
__________________
J.R. Fountain
credits: www.imdb.com/name/nm0288354/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-23-2012, 05:40 PM
cjguitar cjguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Sunland, CA
Posts: 561
Default Re: 10.2 is out.....

Interesting. I just checked my 2xQuad Core 2.26 Ghz, and it's 12% per instance, once I get up to about 7 instances I can't play back at all without errors (CPU jumps all over the place).
__________________
Chris M. Jacobson, CAS
Re-recording Mixer, Sound Designer
IMDB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com