Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2011, 01:30 PM
usastra usastra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 145
Default Is it possible to collect all audio files without making a session copy?

I have a session where the audio files are scattered all over the place and was wondering if it's possible to collect them all and put them in the audio folder of the session folder without making a copy of the session with all audio.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2011, 01:45 PM
studiostuff studiostuff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 238
Default Re: Is it possible to collect all audio files without making a session copy?

Probably the easiest and most accurate method is to do a "Save Copy In".

I know it doesn't meet your requirement for no new session... But, that's my guess for the easiest way to put all the audio files in one folder. YMMV

Last edited by studiostuff; 03-16-2011 at 01:46 PM. Reason: ooops
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2011, 03:06 PM
janmuths janmuths is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Byron Bay / Australia
Posts: 375
Default Re: Is it possible to collect all audio files without making a session copy?

I agree with YMMV. For your next project go to Prefs > Processing and tick 'Automatically copy files on import'.

Cheers,

J.
__________________
2010 Dolphin Award for Production / Engineering

AVID Certified Instructor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2011, 03:39 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Is it possible to collect all audio files without making a session copy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by janmuths View Post
I agree with YMMV. For your next project go to Prefs > Processing and tick 'Automatically copy files on import'.

Cheers,

J.
+1

To reference audio files is a disaster waiting to happen.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2011, 06:25 PM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,361
Default Re: Is it possible to collect all audio files without making a session copy?

... or you could copy and relink from the project browser.

b.o.l.
e
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2011, 07:55 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Is it possible to collect all audio files without making a session copy?

if there on separate drives you could set them to Transfer then open the session

otherwise Save Session In is your friend
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2011, 09:41 PM
formfunction formfunction is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,153
Default Re: Is it possible to collect all audio files without making a session copy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by elicious View Post
... or you could copy and relink from the project browser.

b.o.l.
e
This is exactly what the OP is looking for ....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-17-2011, 11:26 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Is it possible to collect all audio files without making a session copy?

that's fine for a file or 2 but if it's dozens, it a pain in the boot
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-17-2011, 06:35 PM
JC925602 JC925602 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Montreal
Posts: 769
Default Re: Is it possible to collect all audio files without making a session copy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
that's fine for a file or 2 but if it's dozens, it a pain in the boot
Not if you click on the bar that say "pathname" at the top of the projet window, it will sort files by there pathname, then you can select all the files that are not in the main folder and thon copy and relink.

JC
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-21-2013, 08:03 AM
gfink gfink is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Is it possible to collect all audio files without making a session copy?

Was just wondering if you can do this and have ONLY the audio files in use collected... I have a session that has gotten too large with all the extra takes and unused audio files, and would love to just get a copy of the final session that includes only the used audio files.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Files Moved or Removed from Session after Saving Session Copy for Protools 9 doubtful guest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-06-2013 04:42 AM
batch re-copy audio files into existing session? sound_music Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 12-13-2011 06:15 PM
even a save session copy in wont find audio files tsd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-20-2005 11:25 AM
Save Session Copy In removes files from session!!! Jay Nierenberg Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 24 11-11-2004 06:25 PM
Save Session copy w/audio files (invalid sample rate error) Farmer Dave Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-16-2000 05:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com