Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2009, 09:55 AM
shareec70 shareec70 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: KS
Posts: 71
Default Transferred Plugs

I have a friend who is going to part with some plugs. The auths are on iLok and all I have to pay is the iLok transfer fee ($25) and an agreed price on the plugs (a good deal).

So, what happens when those plugs need upgrades? I'm not technically the registered user but after the purchase and the iLok transfer, I do legally own the license. I can see where in the past before iLok, companies had a right to refuse upgrade pricing to non-registered users due to piracy. But, with me now legally owning the license, properly transferred, I should be able to purchase the upgrade. I'm sure it depends on the company, but has anyone else run into this and have any advice? The deal is a good one, the plug maker would be Digidesign (focusrite d2/d3 RTAS plugs).

I'd like to take advantage of this opportunity, but don't want to have something that only works for the next 6 months of this release (or whenever).

Thoughts?
__________________
*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*
-Mac Pro
-10GB Ram
-Digi002
-ProTools 9
-OS 10.5.x
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2009, 02:44 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,624
Default Re: Transferred Plugs

I can't speak for other companies, but usually upgrades for plug-ins we distribute would just require surrender of the previous version license. Since you'd have that, you could do the upgrade.

Other companies policies vary and may require that you be registered. Transfer of registration is often possible, but check with the company directly to be sure.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Pro Tools 8 be transferred from one PC to another without disk? (HELP) Mista808 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-22-2011 12:11 PM
pts file doesn't work when transferred doomsdayvirus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-22-2004 06:15 PM
PT not recognizing files transferred from PC nodell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-01-2003 06:22 PM
Help...anyone who has transferred from DAT to MBox MarcB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-16-2002 07:52 AM
Purchased or Ownership transferred by 1/16/02?? andrej770 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 01-19-2002 03:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com