Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #91  
Old 06-04-2019, 09:22 PM
ProtoolsLover ProtoolsLover is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 108
Default Re: Apple Keynote going

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDDP View Post
True...
But with a mac with 28 cores multithreading at 56 running 4.4GHz speed on 1.5T of ram clocked at 2933MHZ. Why would one even need more than just a HDN card or one HDX. With the exception of needing the inputs and outputs of 6 HDX of coarse.
This is the point I think everyone is potentially missing.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 06-04-2019, 10:16 PM
JLC JLC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Europe
Posts: 129
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Let’s see the geekbench for an 8 core...

Motherboards for this new processor are over $1000

Interesting also the new 9900KS

Best
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 06-04-2019, 10:42 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,077
Default Re: Apple Keynote going

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProtoolsLover View Post
This is the point I think everyone is potentially missing.
The humour is people not realizing what 1.5TB of RAM in only 12 slots will cost per stick.

All the benchmarks on Apple are with 32GB x 12 sticks. Not the insanely priced 128GB x 12 sticks.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 06-04-2019, 11:16 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,087
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
and i need to get a new Power Service to my house / Studio for the 1.4 KiloWatt power supply .. !!!
Well 15 years ago the liquid-cooled G5 was 1.0kW already so nothing really new here.. but still, drawing 1.4kW max is much
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 06-04-2019, 11:19 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,087
Default Re: Apple Keynote going

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDDP View Post
True...
But with a mac with 28 cores multithreading at 56 running 4.4GHz speed on 1.5T of ram clocked at 2933MHZ. Why would one even need more than just a HDN card or one HDX. With the exception of needing the inputs and outputs of 6 HDX of coarse.
This is like saying "with a sports car available why would one need a bus, with the exception of needing to transport lots of people of course"
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 06-04-2019, 11:41 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,714
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Does Avid even support HDX6 systems? I thought they maxed out at 3 HDX cards.

6 would be...384 inputs and 1,536 voice (2,304 if they ever get that voice increase working on the HDX cards).
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 06-04-2019, 11:47 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,077
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Does Avid even support HDX6 systems? I thought they maxed out at 3 HDX cards.

6 would be...384 inputs and 1,536 voice (2,304 if they ever get that voice increase working on the HDX cards).
Avid posted to their Facebook that they would with the new Mac Pro. Showing it with 6 cards (no guarantee on interfaces -- on the old TDM, you could have more cards than interfaces.)

Of course, Avid didn't show any HDX TDM cables in the picture (or power attached.) So kind of idiotic -- the current TDM cables to go between cards will not support what they showed as it won't reach across the double wide slots (which you have to use to get to 6 cards.)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 06-04-2019, 11:48 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 755
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Does Avid even support HDX6 systems? I thought they maxed out at 3 HDX cards.

6 would be...384 inputs and 1,536 voice (2,304 if they ever get that voice increase working on the HDX cards).
A bit of searching the DUC suggests HDX4 had been tested on Windows; also HDX4 is supported on the S6L. In any case, Avid announced that HDX6 apparently works on the new Mac Pro, so presumably it does?
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 06-04-2019, 11:52 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,714
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
A bit of searching the DUC suggests HDX4 had been tested on Windows; also HDX4 is supported on the S6L. In any case, Avid announced that HDX6 apparently works on the new Mac Pro, so presumably it does?
So was it really just a function of the available PCIe slots in the old Mac Pro and the various expansion chassis then?
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 06-05-2019, 12:28 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,087
Default Re: New Mac Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
Does Avid even support HDX6 systems? I thought they maxed out at 3 HDX cards.
Apple announced the support seriously there must be something in there, they wouldn't advertise third parties just for the fun of being sued...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com