Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-27-2013, 03:52 AM
blackc7's Avatar
blackc7 blackc7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 41
Default 192 Digital I/O

The TDIF & AES/EBU connections are suppose to support 8 channels of in and out on one DB-25 connector? I can see 8 channels out or in but not both in and out. I'm trying to find snakes for these connections. (Or am I thinking too hard?)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-27-2013, 04:53 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,074
Default Re: 192 Digital I/O

AES carries two channels in one cable so what you need to find is a cable that has 4 male and 4 female connectors. That is 8 i/o both ways.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-27-2013, 09:57 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: 192 Digital I/O

and TDIF only connects to another 25 pin TDIF connector, do not try and connect AES to it
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-27-2013, 10:25 PM
blackc7's Avatar
blackc7 blackc7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 41
Default Re: 192 Digital I/O

Ok. DB25 to 4 XLR Male and 4 XLR Female.
Below 192 KHz, AES/EBU carries 2 channels per line, so this snake transmits 8 out and 8 in via the 8 XLR connectors.
At 192kHz sample rate, the 192 I/O is using dual wire transmission. This means the AES snake transmits 4 out and 4 in at 192 kHz. In this case, the connector labeled "output 1&2" is output 1, "output 3&4" is output 2, and so forth.
The 4 XLRF wire jackets are yellow; the 4 XLRM jackets are black, all with appropriate labeling.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-27-2013, 10:27 PM
blackc7's Avatar
blackc7 blackc7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 41
Default Re: 192 Digital I/O

I bought the 192 Digital. But, I think I will need a 192 I/O, also.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power consumption of the 192IO Digital and HD IO Digital Alécio Costa Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 32 10-26-2014 11:55 PM
Newbie Digital IO question - HD Digital i/o vs 192 Digital vs X-HD mrdosun Pro Tools 10 1 02-17-2012 12:20 AM
If I get PTHD can I hang all my 44/48k digital gear off of a 192 Digital I/O? Jules Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 06-21-2002 07:57 AM
Digital Output from 888/16 isn't compatible with Digital Input of TC M2000 & PCM 80 beerbr Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-02-2000 09:01 PM
Recording 16bit digital to 24bit digital Tips & Tricks 2 03-14-2000 12:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com