Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2011, 11:58 AM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 707
Default OMNI HD Mic Pre 2 much softer than Mic Pre 1

Using my Omni's built-in mic pre's for the first time and discovered that Input 2 is WAY quieter than Input 1 for some reason. Even with the gain at +65 on Input 2 it comes in much quieter than Input 1 set at +10 gain (the lowest setting).

Settings are identical for both channels (except the gain which is turned up on Ch2 by the above amount). Phantom power is on both channels, Pad is Off on both, both are set to "Mic" and both are set to +4 dBu on the "Analog In" tab in the Hardware setup. I've tried swapping mics and mic cables to no avail, Ch2 is always significantly lower gain than Ch1.

Faulty unit? Or something else I'm forgetting to check?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-16-2011, 12:11 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: OMNI HD Mic Pre 2 much softer than Mic Pre 1

Does the OMNI have Impedance options like the PRE
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2011, 12:44 PM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 707
Default Re: OMNI HD Mic Pre 2 much softer than Mic Pre 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
Does the OMNI have Impedance options like the PRE
Yeah it has "Mic" "Line" and "Inst" if that's what you mean. Both channels 1 & 2 are set on "Mic"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2011, 02:44 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: OMNI HD Mic Pre 2 much softer than Mic Pre 1

And you obviously have nothing plugged into the inserts nor have the insert button on.

Did you check if the Line Ins have a different level too?

Your monitors are set to the same volume as well?

I know - basic stuff but you never know
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2011, 03:21 PM
KMcK KMcK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 707
Default Re: OMNI HD Mic Pre 2 much softer than Mic Pre 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliffy_Boy View Post
And you obviously have nothing plugged into the inserts nor have the insert button on.

Did you check if the Line Ins have a different level too?

Your monitors are set to the same volume as well?

I know - basic stuff but you never know
Insert jacks are not in use.

Just checked the Line inputs, same issue occurs, Ch2 is dramatically quieter than Ch1.

Monitors are fine. The level difference is visible just by looking at the input meter, you don't even have to hear it. Ch2 with +65 gain is visibly lower than Ch1 with +10 gain.

So, next question... how does one get warranty work done on Avid products? This OMNI is only a couple of months old. I'm actually kinda thankful I decided to use input 2 today for this goofy side project, if I hadn't, it could've been well past warranty by the time I discovered it was broken. This is primarily an editing rig, I do almost zero recording on this thing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-16-2011, 04:05 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,382
Default Re: OMNI HD Mic Pre 2 much softer than Mic Pre 1

go on the avid website, support and services, support contact, and you will have a few choices there, or go to your dealer as you do have a purchase warranty I think, depending where you live.
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C24: Right Speaker Seems Softer. EarHole ICON & C|24 0 01-30-2012 06:18 PM
Be aware! Potential HD Omni buyers with treated Rooms and Computers. Omni Noisy Fan FRaNCo MuSiC Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 0 09-25-2011 06:42 AM
Recording level softer than playback volume BinkBonk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 19 04-17-2006 06:21 PM
Why play the loop with sustain pedal softerand softer?? ahmie Digidesign Hardware & Software 5 11-19-2002 01:22 AM
any way to get lead vocal softer during mastering? village1 Tips & Tricks 5 03-08-2001 07:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com