Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Old 09-15-2007, 10:13 AM

Default LIMTING PROBLEMS

Hi, Im new to Pro Tools, just switched over from Logic and I'm having big problems keeping my tracks under 0.0. In Logic the stock limter I used actually kept the signal from going over 0.0db, and I could adjust all the setting and the signal would stay under 0.0. I've tried everything within the Maxim limter and can't seem to keep the signal from peaking. Maybe its my inexperience with protools but I dont understand why this is so complicated, when it was so simple in Logic. Somone please help, this is really messing with my workflow and MY SOUND.

Thanks much.

holla!
Old 09-15-2007, 07:06 PM

Default Re: LIMTING PROBLEMS

I had the same thing happen with Maxim..one thing that worked okay was to put TWO of them on the Master Fader. Then each one doesn't have to work as hard and it's better at stopping peaks. But, the best thing I ever did was to get the Final Plug from Wave Arts (www.wavearts.com).(Haven't used Maxim since.) This will NOT let anything go past -0- and it's very transparent. In most cases, the "CD Mastering" preset works just fine, but everything can be tweaked. I think it's $149 by itself, or you can get the whole Powersuite 5 and get a real killer reverb, eq, etc. Also, you can demo it for free for 30 days, but if you try it, be prepared to buy it. You'll like it that much.
Old 09-16-2007, 04:06 AM

Maxim:
Set the Ceiling to -0.1 dB.
Leave Mix at 100 % and the link button on.
Now adjust the level using the Threshold fader.

The output will not clip, but the sound degrades quickly when the "Atten" bar starts to work.

A much better mastering limiter is the Massey L2007. I use it everytime.