Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-18-2015, 06:32 PM

Default No audio output through monitors or headphones

I have Pro Tools 11. I have been recording for several years, but suddenly, there is no audio output through monitors or headphones. All my settings are correct. Re-booting the computer doesn't help. TRS cables to monitors are good. The Mbox powers on and the audio output registers on the meters in Pro tools. The signal paths are correct. I suspect it is a hardware problem. Could it be a blown sound card? If so, where do I send it for repair? What is the life expectancy of the Mbox hardware? Can the Avid techs rule out a software vs a hardware problem?
Old 07-18-2015, 09:41 PM

Default Re: No audio output through monitors or headphones

I have similar problem, jolson57. I posted a similar issue on the forum last week : titled Sound Suddenly Stops

I have Pro Tools 11 and m-audio fast track pro. I, too, have tried a lot of different remedies. Some work for a short while (maybe 10 minutes) before sound cuts out again.

Obvious things to check/try
Swap USB cable
make sure m-audio has not been inadvertNtly connected to USB3
Make sure, in Control Panel/Sound devices, the M-audio is still selected

What did short term fix for me was
Changing session sample rate from eg 512 to 1024 or vice-versa (or even to/from 256)
Close session, right click on pro tools icon and go to properties, in compatibility, change the OS to something else. My PC is Windows 7 so I changed it to Vista, or Vista service pack 1.
Don't ask me why it worked for me. And, no, you shouldn't need to have to revert to this.

What didn't work for me, but apparently has worked for others is variously
Reassigning the output chanel to the clip