Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-13-2005, 09:46 AM

Default Newbie questions about pro tools & m-box

Hello, I'm new to the forum and PT. So new, I don't have pro tools yet. After lots of research, comparison, and discussion I have decided to get a Pro tools system for basic home studio recording. I have no hands on experience with it, other than being recorded in pro tools. So I have a few questions.

I want to start building a basic home studio using my computer to record and edit tracks. I am not looking to build a vocal booth, or seperate room for drums, etc...(at this point). I basically want to familiarize myself w/recording guitar riffs, bass lines, some vocals, etc.

I have a mac g4, 400mz, 512mb ram, 250gig firewire hd. I've had this machine for a long time now, and its nothing compared to the new macs on the market. But i'm wondering if I added some ram, could I use what I already have? Or, should I invest in a newer more powerfull machine first?

If I don't have to upgrade my mac first, will my mac running os X support PT LE 6.7?

The Mbox factory bundle looks like a good place to start, should I buy the mbox and some ram for my current machine. Use it for a little while to get familiar with it. In the meantime save up for a g5? Or, should I put the $500 towards a new computer, then get the mbox??

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Old 04-13-2005, 11:18 AM

Default Re: Newbie questions about pro tools & m-box