Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-24-2010, 01:00 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default What's stored with PT preferences?

Any docs on this subject?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2010, 01:24 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: What's stored with PT preferences?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PT Lover View Post
Any docs on this subject?
It's pretty much everything you expect. I don't know if there are any docs... but just about everything that gets saved for the next session. I/O, track colours, window arrangements, peripherals, setup preferences, etc...
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-24-2010, 01:41 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: What's stored with PT preferences?

I was hoping that there could be a list somewhere. The reason being that I have to trash the prefs often to keep the D-Command working properly, and there's always something I've forgotten to set up the way I want before I make a backup of the prefs.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2010, 02:28 PM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 967
Default Re: What's stored with PT preferences?

Donno if that helps you, but in addition to the Prefs & Database helper.app I take screenshots from time to time.

I/O-Setup (Busses, Output, Input)
The 4 Peripheral-tabs
PT-Pref-tabs (7 pages/tabs)

What's definetely stored, too are the user buttons of D-command and the ConsolePrefs/Operations and some more stuff.
For those, I'm using my camera
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 , 32 Gig Ram, 2xATI Radeon HD 5770, OSX10.13.2  Pro Tools|HDX Ultimate 2018.4.0  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2010, 03:06 PM
GS-DK GS-DK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 521
Default Re: What's stored with PT preferences?

Same here - a bit old-fashioned, but it gets the job done.....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-24-2010, 03:12 PM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,199
Default Re: What's stored with PT preferences?

You could get your prefs set up as you like them to be, then copy the folder to a safe location.

Next time you have to trash the prefs, replace the new prefs folder with a copy of your back-up.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-24-2010, 03:22 PM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 988
Default Re: What's stored with PT preferences?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carl Kolchak View Post
You could get your prefs set up as you like them to be, then copy the folder to a safe location.

Next time you have to trash the prefs, replace the new prefs folder with a copy of your back-up.
Yep, this is what I do. Only difference is that I use a couple of AppleScripts to backup and restore the prefs to automate these procedures. Of course this is still no real answer to the OP's question.
I do not think that there is a list so you gotta find out yourself. Make changes of your settings and after each change check for modification dates of the following files:

Pro Tools v8.0 Preferences
DigiSetup.OSX
com.digidesign.ProToolsHD.plist


Oliver
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-24-2010, 03:56 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: What's stored with PT preferences?

Thanks for the tips. I'll ponder on this a bit.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-24-2010, 09:31 PM
JC925602 JC925602 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Montreal
Posts: 769
Default Re: What's stored with PT preferences?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
...Make changes of your settings and after each change check for modification dates of the following files:

Pro Tools v8.0 Preferences
DigiSetup.OSX
com.digidesign.ProToolsHD.plist


Oliver
The ProTools Preferences file is only change when you quit ProTools. The process seems to be:
1- Delete the old file
2- create a brand new file

And some prefs are also saved with the session file and will overwrite your own pref when you open it.

JC
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-25-2010, 04:35 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: What's stored with PT preferences?

Quote:
And some prefs are also saved with the session file and will overwrite your own pref when you open it.
THANK YOU! I've had a feeling about this, but since I never tested this meticulously I didn't know.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installer, where is it stored? j.thomas Windows 3 10-16-2011 02:24 PM
Where are templtaes stored? stainless 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-14-2010 01:46 PM
Where are ICON preferences stored? macaholic ICON & C|24 1 09-12-2008 07:48 PM
Preferences is not stored Raggi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 06-24-2007 09:40 AM
USD settings not stored PHead14006 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-10-2001 10:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com