Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2017, 12:36 PM
maz_records maz_records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 17
Default Apogee Rosetta 800 With HD Cards

Hello Everybody,

I have a couple of questions to upgrade my Studio.

I use MAC OS on my control room and mbox 3 pro with RME ADI 4 Converter, Running on ProTools HD-10 , and now there is a deal in front of me to have (Apogee Rosetta 800 with 1 core card and 1 accel card PCIE "HD1") .

So if i bought them "Are they Going to be compatible with ProTools 10 HD?"

and "If so, How many Track they will support on the DSP?"

"and what the type of plugins that they will support and hw many?"

The last question "if want to hear normal sounds on my MAC like a song from Finder or youtube , is this will be a problem?"

Thanx A Lot and hope to have an Effective reply
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2017, 02:37 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,029
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 With HD Cards

If the Apogee has X-HD card installed, it will show up as Digidesign/Avid interface to PTHD
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-09-2017, 02:54 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,192
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 With HD Cards

Pro Tools TDM cards support... TDM plugins. You can run those as well as RTAS and AAX-Native (32-bit) in Pro Tools 10 if you add TDM card(s).

The main reason for going to TDM would be to monitor through plugins at low-latency.

The main reason for going to Digilink interfaces (which you could also do with HDX or HD Native) is high IO counts.

If those things are not issues for you so would I would not consider doing this.

You need to spend time understanding the minimum system requirements for the TDM cards and things like voice count limits on the TDM cards—read the Pro Tools 10 Reference Guide. All your questions, and more you did not know to ask yet are in that document.

You cannot aggregate a Digilink interface with non-DigiLink interfaces so you would only have the Rosetta to work with unless you added another DigiLink interface.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2017, 03:06 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,192
Default Apogee Rosetta 800 With HD Cards

It is not clear how you are using the MBox 3 Pro and RME ADI-4, but with the Rosetta 800 You cannot add to the 8 channels with ADAT in. You get to choose between analog in or ADAT in, and presumably you are buying the Rosetta for its c
analog conversion...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 11-09-2017 at 04:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-09-2017, 04:31 PM
maz_records maz_records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 17
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 With HD Cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
If the Apogee has X-HD card installed, it will show up as Digidesign/Avid interface to PTHD
So u mean that if i had the X-HD Apogee card it will act as an Avid Interface.. and in this case i'll not need to get the core and accel or i'll add them with the X-HD card ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-09-2017, 05:14 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,192
Default Apogee Rosetta 800 With HD Cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by maz_records View Post
So u mean that if i had the X-HD Apogee card it will act as an Avid Interface.. and in this case i'll not need to get the core and accel or i'll add them with the X-HD card ?


??? The X-HD card goes in the Rosetta 800 and gives it DigiLink connectivity. The Core card in your computer provides DigiLink connectivity. You connect the interface and core card/computer with a DigiLink cable. The Accel card provides more DSP processing beyond what is already on the core card. There is no DSP processing done except in those cards.

The TDM cards will not operate without a DigiLink interface connected (like the Rosetta with X-HD card).

What actual problem or limit with your current system are you trying to solve?

If you go to a TDM DSP system you cannot upgrade beyond Pro Tools 10, will never be able to run 64-bit Pro Tools. Will never be able to run current Mac OS versions or run on any current or future Mac.

An accel and core card is actually a HD2, not sure why it is being called a HD1. Make sure you know/see this works as it’s easy to get a dud card.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-09-2017, 09:25 PM
Samanthas Dream Samanthas Dream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: At Home
Posts: 2
Default Re: Apogee Rosetta 800 With HD Cards

How much are they asking for the TDM cards and the Rosetta?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FA: Apogee Rosetta 800 joepopp Buy & Sell 0 09-19-2013 07:20 AM
New in the box Apogee Rosetta 200 192 AD/DA postman56 Buy & Sell 4 06-03-2013 02:54 PM
Apogee Rosetta 200 (MINT), Lynx AES16e-SRC, Apogee Duet, BBE 882i, OFFERS ENTERTAINED jrhager84 Buy & Sell 5 03-11-2013 01:25 AM
96/io to apogee Rosetta 800????????? MASTERLINKSTUDIOS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 09-23-2009 08:25 AM
How would you use an apogee rosetta within 001? cane 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 09-07-2001 07:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com