Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-12-2020, 06:18 PM
Blake Henderson Blake Henderson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, ca
Posts: 154
Default Re: ProTools 2020.11

FWIW, My install on Mojave went fine. No issues yet.

I tend to agree with the criticism from others about "Dark Mode". It's not very soothing to the eye on my screen. The white text is rather harsh against the darker background. hmmm. Perhaps it's also worth giving it time to become normal.


UPDATE: It actually looks pretty nice on my Macbook Pro.

blake
__________________
Clumsy Congregation

Last edited by Blake Henderson; 11-12-2020 at 08:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-12-2020, 06:33 PM
DontLetMeDrown DontLetMeDrown is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 262
Default I hope they fix night mode on Windows 10

The top 2 bars of the app plus every single plugin window are still white. Cmon Avid. Please send them a feature request on my behalf



Pro Tools night mode:


https://drive.google.com/file/d/1npR...ew?usp=sharing

Normal apps night mode:


https://drive.google.com/file/d/19fd...ew?usp=sharing

Last edited by jeffro; 11-18-2020 at 05:30 PM. Reason: Similar threads merged.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-12-2020, 06:40 PM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 187
Default Re: ProTools 2020.11

One of the things about macOS' system-wide dark mode that makes it work is that element borders have this pixel thin light outline that helps distinguish them from their surroundings. I feel like that's what's missing here.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-12-2020, 06:40 PM
chetland chetland is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 18
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

I agree it's pretty bad, although I've been forcing myself to work with it for awhile and it's starting to grow on me a bit. Or maybe it's a Stockholm Syndrome thing.

I did find that turning the brightness all the way up in the color palette helped to reduce how intense the bright/dark contrast was in some areas.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-12-2020, 07:49 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,006
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

I like it personally

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-12-2020, 07:52 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,177
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

I think its okay, but I am also happy that I can turn it back to what works with these old eyes. Since its a first draft, just turn it off and see how it changes over the next few releases.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-12-2020, 07:57 PM
Benny_Cha_Cha Benny_Cha_Cha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 514
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Can’t tell if my plugins are active or inactive.

Bye.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Ben Rubin

Producer//Mixer//Bassist//Composer

benrubin.com
twitter // instagram // facebook // imdb
------------
PT Ultimate 2018.7, Mac Pro 5,1 12-core 3.46, 24Gb RAM, Mac OSX 10.12.6fd, SSD boot drive, SSD sample drive,
Neve 8816, HD Native PCIe, Apogee DA-16X, Lynx Aurora 16, Benchmark DAC-1/ADC-1
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-12-2020, 08:00 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,742
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Did *anybody* test dark mode? How can you not hit the nail on the head with something so simple? If you can't hit stuff like this out of the box provide some end-user control over darkness/button illumination.

It's crazy that Pro Tools has is a color palette control that does not do anything useful. It's just like it's broken... it's such an utterly confusing/useless way of setting anything. That's where adjustments for this stuff should live. My main objection against a dark background you get super saturated bright waveforms that hit you in the face so much that it overpowers the dark UI. And I can't find a sweet spot with system wide screen brightness. This should not be rocket science but this looks like a first effort that needs work and some real testing.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 11-12-2020 at 08:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-12-2020, 08:56 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,742
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

For anybody else concerned (edit:) Setup>Preferences>UI Theme>Classic and be gone with this until Avid gets their act more together.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 11-12-2020 at 10:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-12-2020, 09:05 PM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 146
Default Re: ProTools 2020.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neale View Post
If I may be an a-hole, I’ll say that I LIKE the dark mode. Maybe because I also have had no other issues happen in a quick bit of opening old sessions and running them. There are no lines nor markers that I am used to seeing that are missing; I had to tweak my track saturation and brightness settings to get some colour back, but that’s there too.

So... not sure if the nitpickers have miscalibrated monitors or something (I do, for photography and video), but... taste differences aside... I see nothing functionally missing in dark mode like others have complained, plus I just plain like it better.

$0.02 (CAD)
Good call on the Saturation and Brightness. Bumping the brightness really helped. The 2 main things that are still hard on my eyes are that the white text doesn't read as easily, especially in the Tracks List and Clip List, but also on the Track Name in the Edit Window to some degree. and the GREEN. Jeeez, the Green in the whole Transport Section in the top of the Edit Window is really harsh and burning my eyes. It's almost too cool in temperature. The Blue in the Tool selector (for example) is really intense as well. (My display is calibrated, but it is standalone and doesn't do the Night Shift thing)
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

12-core 3.46GHz Cheese Grater, 64GB RAM, HD | Native, HD I/O
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2020.5/2020.3 Compatibility with Catalina 10.15.4? derrickhou macOS 4 07-26-2020 08:46 AM
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 09:01 AM
How to change Pro Tools 12 to a Dark theme/skin Defier Pro Tools 12 7 03-26-2016 06:22 PM
Pro Tools 8 theme for Reaper? JazzyJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-09-2010 08:51 AM
Pro tools theme song....! roijin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-27-2001 08:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com