Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2010, 10:34 PM
Rob0214 Rob0214 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 172
Default Monitoring through Rosetta vs Monitoring through 003

Hi all,

I did a little test to see if there was a difference monitoring through the 003 vs the Rosetta. Quite honestly, I didn't hear that much of a difference. I was wondering if maybe I did something wrong with my test.

Here's what I did:

I imported a track from a CD, then sent it to 2 different stereo aux buses. One bus pair fed analog 1-2, the other ADAT 1-2 (Rosetta). Then I sent the bus outputs to 2 master faders (1 on analog 1-2, the other on ADAT 1-2).

I bussed/master volumed it separately so I could A/B things easier, and because I could have separate master volume levels (because the Rosetta output is freaking loud).

So, is my testing methodology sound? Because, I'm sort of surprised at the results.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2010, 05:49 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,509
Default Re: Monitoring through Rosetta vs Monitoring through 003

Try this, run your CD recording track(just one of them) out the main outs, and use an AUX send, set to -0 to feed a set of Rosetta outputs. Create 2 stereo audio tracks, MUTE the inputs for now(so you don't create a feedback loop) and bring each set of signals back into the 003(or the Rosetta or 1 set each) and record these new returns. Once you record a little(30 seconds would be plenty). take the new tracks out of record, and SOLO the 2 of them(so you are not listening to the original). Listen to each alone, and then together. Maybe zoom way in on the very start of the waveform and look for any offset. Listen for phasing. Let us know what you see and hear. If both tracks line up perfectly and just get louder when combined, that will be great,
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2010, 07:26 AM
Bender Bender is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 1,146
Default Re: Monitoring through Rosetta vs Monitoring through 003

Other things can make a difference. Your room, monitors etc.
The difference between my Rosetta 800 and my 003 are very obvious.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-17-2010, 02:01 AM
Larryboy Larryboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 357
Default Re: Monitoring through Rosetta vs Monitoring through 003

What are you plugging the units into. If I plugged my units into something like a Mackie mixer then to the amp and speakers I probably would hear a small difference because the Mackie would impart something (negative) to the sound of both units. To do a true AB comparison you have to go straight to the amp or have something of high quality between the units and the amp. And then of course the amp will affect the sound as well as the speakers.

I run my Rosetta and 002R into an X-Sum and they just do not sound the same at all. Even clocking off the Rosetta, the 002R lacks a bit of clarity. But it's really hard to hear if you run everything into a junk mixer and speakers.
__________________
27in 3gHz Intel iMac w/8gb RAM, 13" MacBook Pro 2.7gHz i7, Pro Tools 10, Logic Pro 9, Apogee Quartet, Grace M101, Rosetta 800, Speck X-Sum, Roland XV-5050, Event PS6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-17-2010, 03:02 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Monitoring through Rosetta vs Monitoring through 003

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bender View Post
Other things can make a difference. Your room, monitors etc.
The difference between my Rosetta 800 and my 003 are very obvious.
BINGO! If you're using so-so monitors, the difference won't be substantial---if you're using really good monitors that will allow you to hear what's going on, oh you'll notice it. Of course there are these things known as cables too! One of my clients was in EXACTLY the same situation as you, he told me his cables were fine when he ordered the Rosetta800 through me, called back saying there wasn't much of a difference. He was using ADAM S2A monitors---good monitors. WELL....come to find out he had cheaper cables. So I sent him (2) Monster Cables, problem solved. In his words I believe he said something like "This $80 investment made my studio sound $10,000 better".
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Direct Monitoring VS PT Monitoring therecordinghouse macOS 5 11-23-2013 05:18 PM
Mbox2 vs Mbox2 Pro for monitoring with Rosetta 200 Violet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-20-2010 08:23 PM
Apogee Rosetta 800 Monitoring Problems Blkiris Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-13-2008 07:05 PM
Rosetta 200 for monitoring TitaniumG 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-09-2005 03:21 AM
Monitoring -- Apogee Rosetta 800 Sheep 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-07-2004 10:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com