Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2010, 10:10 PM
offshoretechman offshoretechman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 19
Default Using the external hard drive..........

I have been reading an 1112 page manual I downloaded from the digi website and I know I need to put the audio files on the external.
Is anyone putting all the files on there external or JUST the audio, and everything else on the internal ?

Thanks
__________________
Snow Leopard 10.6.4
17" MacBook Pro 2.4 Ghz, 500 Gig HDD, 6 Gigs Ram
OWC 1 TB Mercury Elite-AL Pro External HDD with Oxford Chipset and firewire 400
Pro Tools 804 with Mbox 2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2010, 10:19 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Using the external hard drive..........

What do u mean, "All the files?"
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2010, 10:21 PM
offshoretechman offshoretechman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 19
Default Re: Using the external hard drive..........

Im new at this
Meaning the songs created with the software, all the data
__________________
Snow Leopard 10.6.4
17" MacBook Pro 2.4 Ghz, 500 Gig HDD, 6 Gigs Ram
OWC 1 TB Mercury Elite-AL Pro External HDD with Oxford Chipset and firewire 400
Pro Tools 804 with Mbox 2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2010, 10:24 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Using the external hard drive..........

If you set-up your session on the external drive, All relevant data will be in a folder on that drive. Best to leave all session data together, unless you have a professional reason not too.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2010, 10:24 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Using the external hard drive..........

Quote:
Originally Posted by offshoretechman View Post
Im new at this
Meaning the songs created with the software, all the data
Ohh..Thatz gonna go wherever u start the session so it'd be on there 1st anyway...




edit: NEC Phone & I answered simultaneously but the answer is basically the same...So that should get u On Shore, Tech Man
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-03-2010, 10:26 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Using the external hard drive..........

also, if you open the PT manual in PT, through adobe you can do searches. I printed it out for light reading, but I search for specifics through Acrobat.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2010, 11:20 AM
offshoretechman offshoretechman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 19
Default Re: Using the external hard drive..........

So, It sounds like it....... save all session data to the External ( MIDI and Audio) and just let the pro tools software run on the internal.
I went thru the the PDF doing a search on saving and it tells you all about it, except for the best place to save. I know DIGI site say's save audio to external and the best type of drive to do it on.
Thanks everyone for help
__________________
Snow Leopard 10.6.4
17" MacBook Pro 2.4 Ghz, 500 Gig HDD, 6 Gigs Ram
OWC 1 TB Mercury Elite-AL Pro External HDD with Oxford Chipset and firewire 400
Pro Tools 804 with Mbox 2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Hard Drive Fan? Sonic Blue Meanie Storage Subsystems 3 10-12-2011 12:41 PM
External dedicated external hard drive JuanCarlos General Discussion 1 02-15-2010 04:11 PM
External hard drive mix-up/ bzb888 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 09-13-2007 09:29 AM
External Hard Drive vs. System Drive evman108 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-30-2006 02:49 PM
Why is my LaCie external 80 gig, 7200 rpm firewire hard drive an invalid drive to be Fucius General Discussion 4 03-20-2002 12:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com