Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-23-2013, 12:58 AM
The Byre The Byre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 76
Default Rumours that Avid is to follow Adobe's lead to cloud-based computing

There are multiple rumours that Avid is to follow Adobe's lead to cloud-based computing only. i.e. you will only be able to rent/lease ProTools hardware and software by this time next year.

Last edited by DigiTechSupt; 05-29-2013 at 11:46 AM. Reason: Tangent moved to own thread from the "Greenfield resigns..." thread.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2013, 03:43 AM
TCM's Avatar
TCM TCM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,513
Default Re: Rumours that Avid is to follow Adobe's lead to cloud-based computing

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Byre View Post
There are multiple rumours that Avid is to follow Adobe's lead to cloud-based computing only. i.e. you will only be able to rent/lease ProTools hardware and software by this time next year.
I hope that this remains a rumor!
__________________
002R BLA mod and Mbox mini 2, PT 11.3.2,
HD Native, HD IO 16x8x8, PT 2018.7, Win 10 Pro 64, Asrock X99 Extreme6/3.1, i7-6850K, 32 GB Ram, SSD system drive, ssd audio drive
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2013, 05:52 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,146
Default Re: Rumours that Avid is to follow Adobe's lead to cloud-based computing

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Byre View Post

There are multiple rumours that Avid is to follow Adobe's lead to cloud-based computing only. i.e. you will only be able to rent/lease ProTools hardware and software by this time next year.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCM View Post
I hope that this remains a rumor!
Same here. Glad I purchased Adobe Audition CS6 a couple of months back before this happened. Adobe was giving the option of going cloud based with a monthly subscription rate versus purchasing outright and I went for outright purchase.

Let me put forth a dangerous scenario: say Avid goes to monthly subscription and no longer offers outright purchase of software and hardware. What's to stop them from changing your iLok asset to the new scheme? Next time you go to synch your iLok/add new licenses and you find out your PT asset has changed.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-23-2013, 06:21 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,416
Default Re: Rumours that Avid is to follow Adobe's lead to cloud-based computing

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Byre View Post
There are multiple rumours that Avid is to follow Adobe's lead to cloud-based computing only. i.e. you will only be able to rent/lease ProTools hardware and software by this time next year.
Can you post a link to this?
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2013, 09:35 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,411
Default Re: Rumours that Avid is to follow Adobe's lead to cloud-based computing

I may have started one of those rumors based on conversations I've had with some old friends in the broadcasting and post production business. Their corporate owners have been selling off all of their capital investment and begun leasing absolutely everything. It makes their perceived value look better to stockholders while allowing them to more easily keep up with new technology. These are Avid and Adobe's biggest customers. I think it may explain a number of Avid's recent moves including the management change and the need to straighten out their accounting in spite of knowing it would be a PR disaster.

Putting together Apple and Microsoft's app stores, Adobe's Creative Cloud and Microsoft's Office 365, we're probably looking at some mighty big changes in how we relate to the next generation of software.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2013, 09:58 AM
Jay_uk Jay_uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,233
Default Re: Rumours that Avid is to follow Adobe's lead to cloud-based computing

Google shows up piece...its a cache link, as the new one is pdf.
and its from 2011
https://webcache.googleusercontent.c...&gbv=2&ct=clnk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-25-2013, 04:32 AM
TCM's Avatar
TCM TCM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,513
Default Re: Rumours that Avid is to follow Adobe's lead to cloud-based computing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_uk View Post
Google shows up piece...its a cache link, as the new one is pdf.
and its from 2011
https://webcache.googleusercontent.c...&gbv=2&ct=clnk
Thanks for the link, Jay!

I am very suspicious about some of the cloud-based business models, because they
1. may drive the customer more into a dependency,
2. may compromise customer privacy,
3. are designed to strengthen the position of business AT THE COST of the position of the customers (so no win-win situation).
__________________
002R BLA mod and Mbox mini 2, PT 11.3.2,
HD Native, HD IO 16x8x8, PT 2018.7, Win 10 Pro 64, Asrock X99 Extreme6/3.1, i7-6850K, 32 GB Ram, SSD system drive, ssd audio drive
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-25-2013, 06:37 AM
Smurf43 Smurf43 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 73
Default Re: Rumours that Avid is to follow Adobe's lead to cloud-based computing

There is NO WAY I will be connected to the net just to run software that I bought. I KNOW I don't OWN any software I have purchased, but bottom line is for every bit of software that does this, that is one less on my system...

Avid is NOT that big a fish in a lot of folks eyes anymore...
__________________
On Vista x64.....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-25-2013, 08:59 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,805
Default Re: Rumours that Avid is to follow Adobe's lead to cloud-based computing

You don't have to be connected to use the Adobe stuff, other than once a month for them to check eligibility. You still install and use the software like before.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-25-2013, 09:17 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,146
Default Re: Rumours that Avid is to follow Adobe's lead to cloud-based computing

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
You don't have to be connected to use the Adobe stuff, other than once a month for them to check eligibility. You still install and use the software like before.
And pay them once a month just like your utility bills
Like I said I'm lucky I got Audition before they went the mandatory subscription mode - at least I understand it's mandatory from now on.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid 16X16 IO (new one) compatible with PCI based TDM system? Mr. Light Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 06-23-2013 04:05 AM
48-core processor - Pro Tools cloud computing? dbrunell General Discussion 10 12-06-2009 06:45 PM
Cloud Based Recording deanguidry 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-26-2009 03:41 PM
Avid Prepping for Intel Based Macs mjteix General Discussion 3 11-08-2005 08:43 AM
LEAD IN or LEAD OUT error when finishing BAKs Alécio Costa Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-22-2002 09:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com