Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2005, 08:50 AM
er1c er1c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 234
Default Dilemma

Hello all,

I need your experience before buying my next Machine.

I will swich from iBook to Powermac G5 (i know the incompatibility with tiger but a relase will come soon)

I only use virtual instruments (Sampletank 2, Sonick Synth and Battery 2 for now perhaps Kontakt later) and i have an mBox Factory, one guitar and one mic

I have budget to buy :

a Dual G5 2.7Ghz with 1G of Ram and an apple Cinema display 20"

Or

a Dual G5 2Ghz with 1G of Ram and an apple Cinema display 23"

I don't want to change this computer for the next five years and i will use it only for music with protools le mBox (if my mBox lives this time)

I know that a bigger screen is very conforatble and i want to know if a dual 2Ghz is enought to run Protools Le without any problem so i can buy the 23" and have a greater workspace or a dual 2.7ghz is the only choise to don't have to change my computer before the next five years?

Thanks for your advice.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2005, 09:25 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Dilemma

The general rule for ProTools is to buy the fastest processor you can afford. There are plenty of people using the dual 2.0 with good results. but the dual 2.7 will give you even better results.

Is there a reason you've decided on the apple displays? Sure they're beautiful, but they're overpriced. You can get two 17" LCDs (with DVI) for almost half of what the 20" display costs, or even just a 20" from another manufacturer is stil about $150 cheaper. Just food for thought.

Also, since you like to use soft-samplers, you'll probably want at least another GB of RAM, so factor that in as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2005, 09:48 AM
ariel keshet ariel keshet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: paris france
Posts: 197
Default Re: Dilemma

[QUOTE]
The general rule for ProTools is to buy the fastest processor you can afford[QUOTE]


i cant disaggre more! sorry ,but if no one has noticed that the G5 series is a killer, thats too bad. you have all forgotten what we have done before with G4 400....and even less , G5 is a super fast processor and pro results are defenite with even single G5 , so i see no reason spending such amount of money for a machine that in about 2 years would be really "history" of the Mac familly , as we all know they have declared a transition , and in about 2 years all macs would carry "intel inside" sticker , no reason at all buying more than one can afford , and if you can afford such a machine i woudent call it a real "dilemma" but an heavenlly question...furthermore , protools can run only on one processor, you cant really optimaize your setup with 2 , as you can only run 32 tracks of audio, if you are ruuning logic 7 pro , a super dual G52.7 (or even 2 of them at the time)would be apretty good reason for it as it would give you setup powerfuul as a nice tdm system , but with protools LE i believe that differances wont be outstanding with all the respect! if you got so much money get good convertors, preamps and mics , that would upgrade your setup ,
as for softwere synth's , i am running mach five sample tank and reason - ultrafocus and stylus at once with a G5 1.8 single with only 768 Ram , i have never expireanced a problem unless i am not playing 5 samples of 512Mb at once , so get a good G5 pleanty of Ram and get going with your music
__________________
G5 1.8ghz 10.3.8 768ram
Protools6.9 waves V.5
Mbox(waiting for 002R)
neumann tlm103
Tlaudio 5051 v.2
genelec 1030
yamaha p-90
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2005, 10:24 AM
C52382P C52382P is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Smithfield, VA
Posts: 336
Default Re: Dilemma

Dude buy what you like. Faster processors are better...end of story. More ram is better...end of story. i went to costco and bought two princeton 19 inch LCDs for 325 bucks a piece. They have a 16ms response time (same as the apples) and DVI connectors. the resolution on them is only 1280x1024 but everything looks fine to me. Take that extra 200 bucks and buy yourself a bluetube and a couple of pizzas or something.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2005, 12:07 PM
carlos santana carlos santana is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 300
Default Re: Dilemma

dude forget the cinema display

i bot two samsung 17 inch syncmaster 753 dfx for a third of the price and been working on both scrrens since and all i can say is what you save here spend on ram
and defintly bye the 2.7 ghz processor

you wont regreat
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2005, 01:47 PM
er1c er1c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 234
Default Re: Dilemma

Ok thanks for your advices i will go for two 17" LCD and more ram on a dual 2.7
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-21-2005, 03:49 PM
LUEDEMANN LUEDEMANN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Oakland,CA,USA
Posts: 84
Default Re: Dilemma

i have a DUAL 2ghz with 4.5gbs ram, and i run out of power, the faster the cpu the better and more memory too, i also have 2 19" LCD's it works well.

get the 2.7Ghz
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:54 AM
er1c er1c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 234
Default Re: Dilemma

Ok dillema is closed

I finally baught a Refurb Dual 1.8

It is far from my first choise but with the rest of money i can buy more and more memory, get two nice 19" flat pannels and can plan to get other nice stuff like a nice blue tube preamp for my mic and a brand new electric bass

Thank all for your advices
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dilemma with 7.3.1 onto 8 worker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-02-2009 01:09 AM
Mic-Pre Dilemma GtrDude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-27-2007 09:40 AM
DAT dilemma... lightning ad Post - Surround - Video 8 06-29-2006 09:13 AM
Mic Dilemma Hypekeez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 01-18-2002 11:49 PM
24-bit dilemma CStern Tips & Tricks 9 10-28-2000 03:34 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com